Science Contest Winner

Layla Masri of Gaithersburg was selected this fall as one of seven national winners in the 1986-87 Space Science Student Involvement Program Space Station Project for seventh through ninth graders. Her proposal was selected from thousands entered across the nation in a program sponsored by the National Science Teachers Association and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Her winning proposal was titled "The Effects of Micro-Gravity on the Vitamin C Content of a Tomato." Layla is a 10th grade student this year at Gaithersburg High School.

44 Scholars Named

The National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students has named 44 scholars from Montgomery County whose 1986 National Merit scores placed them in the upper 6 percent of about 80,000 black students who took the test.

The following high school students were named: Michone Johnson and Daphne Thompson of Bethesda Chevy-Chase; Yvette Austin of Montgomery Blair; Richard Tro of Churchill; Stacy Gradison and Michael Navy of Albert Einstein; David Butler and Ivan Wilson of Gaithersburg; Segun Mbanefo of Walter Johnson; Demetrius Davis, Graciella Drew, Michael Green, Camille Norment, Vincent Rampersaud, Cherie Saunders and Michelle Taylor of Kennedy.

Also, Eric Gilkesson and Joe Santifer of Magruder; Erron Al-Amin and Angela Turner of Richard Montgomery; Joanne Allard, Allen Flood, Angela Graham, Yolanda Heman-Ackah, Keith Johnson, Stephanie Jones, Tammi Jones, Maurice London, Scott Robinson, Reginald Stuart and Logan Williams of Paint Branch; Charles Askew and Hillary Woodson of Rockville; Dawn Johnson, Nicholas Strane and Walter Varner of Seneca Valley.

Also, Michaela Harrison, Adrian Isles, Kelli Lightfoot, Lisa Richardson and Monica Whiten of Springbrook; Kara Garcia, Clarence Hardy and Jennifer Thompson of Wootton.