17 Youths Honored

The Metropolitan Police Boys and Girls Clubs recently honored 17 members at its 53rd Annual Awards Dinner held at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

Milton Joshua Butts, Ezra Edelman, Benjamin Franklin, Richard W. Galiher III, Rosetta Gardner, Kevin Gray, Damon Hawkins, Danita Joanne King, Arnice Mack, Jason Nettles, Mundi Nettles, LaPronda India Spann, Javan Steadham, Chelica Nicole Thompson, Leslie Germaine Tyson, Ricardo Waldrop and Richard Walker were honored for community and scholastic achievement.

In addition, Spann received the first annual Chief Maurice T. Turner Jr. Award for Club Leadership.

Instructor Wins Award

Elise K. Kirk, who teaches musicology at Catholic University, recently received the ASCAP/Deems Taylor Award for her book "Music at the White House: A History of the American Spirit."

The award is given annually to authors of books in the field of music by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Kirk also recently received the Alumni Achievement Award from Catholic University.

Student in Who's Who

Tamara D. Wayne, a senior at Trinity College and a resident of the District, was among 10 Trinity students recently selected by Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. The publication annually lists outstanding students drawn from 1,400 institutions of higher learning from all states, the District and several nations.

Teacher Publishes Book

Nathaniel A. Dickens, a graduate of Dunbar Senior High School, Howard University and the University of the District of Columbia, recently published his first novel, "The Gospel Singer." Dickens is also a teacher in the D.C. public schools.

Volunteer of the Year

Catherine De Mattia was recently named Volunteer of the Year for the Army Community Service at Walter Reed Army Medical Center. The 78-year-old De Mattia has provided Walter Reed with more than 3,000 hours of service. Mathematics Winner

Patricia Crawford, a student at Crawford Junior High School, was recently named the first place winner in the "I Love Mathematics" poster contest sponsored by the Golden Spiral Institute. Crawford was awarded with a $50 savings bond.

Cancer Society Award

The American Cancer Society, District of Columbia Division, recently awarded its annual Distinguished Service Award to five volunteers for their contribution to the cause of cancer control.

Named were Gerald Cannizzaro, James J. Johnson, Dr. Roger Kurtz, Dr. Tracy M. Walton and the late Frank Weitzel.

Send items to Eric Charles May, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. Please include address and day and evening telephone numbers. Black and white photographs, which cannot be returned, may be included.