Robinson qualified 11 wrestlers for this weekend's regional meet as it won its second straight Northern District title. Chantilly, West Potomac and Marshall also won district meets handily. The top four wrestlers from each district in each weight class advanced to this week's regional tournament, which will be held at Mount Vernon Friday and Saturday.

Northern District:

Robinson won its second consecutive title, easily outdistancing second place Lake Braddock, 181-131 1/2, on the strength of five individual champions, three runnersup and three third place finishers.

All the top seeded wrestlers captured district crowns, including senior David Wilderman of West Springfield at 138 pounds, who won for the second straight year.

The Robinson champions were David Long at 98, undefeated Kevin Littley at 105, Stacy Gruber at 126, undefeated Rob Patten at 155 and undefeated Chris Ellison at 167.

Patten finished second in the Northern Region Tournament last year after finishing third in the district.

W.T. Woodson had three champions but could finish no higher than fifth as a team. The champions were Trent Overboe at 145, Matt Duff at 176 and Trent Bowers at 185. Bowers, who has a record of 17-1-1, finished second in both the region and district a year ago.

Second place Lake Braddock had two champions: undefeated Sergio Loza at 112 and Brent Gehring at 119. West Springfield, which finished third, also had two champions. In addition to Wilderman, Eddie Mahoney won at 132. Oakton's Robert Lassiter won the unlimited division.

Great Falls District:

Marshall successfully defended its district title, easily outdistancing Yorktown, 163 1/2-117 1/2. The Statesmen had four individual champions and advanced 11 wrestlers to this weekend's regional tournament.

David Mule (at 98 pounds), Cuong Do (105), Chris Sapio (112) and Roger Baxter (126) all won titles for the Statesmen.

Yorktown's John Gerber (119) and Tyrone Mitchell (unlimited) each won championships. McLean, led by individual champions Steve Platt (145) and Phil Seifert (155), finished third with a total of 95 points.

Potomac District:

Chantilly had five champions, a runnerup, three thirds and two fourths to finish with 183 points, well ahead of second-place Fairfax (127 1/2).

Chantilly's upper-weight strength was evident in the tournament as the Chargers took the final four weight classes. Jim Schneider won at 167, Josh Webb at 176, Jack Vick at 185 and Steve Crouch at heavyweight. They joined Andy Stever at 138 as champions.

Fairfax had just one champion -- undefeated Ben Miller at 105, but four second places helped the Rebels to the runnerup slot.

Host Falls Church and Annandale each had a pair of champions. The Jaguars had Joey McDaniel at 126 and Tony Mathus at 132 while the Atoms had Alan Marlowe at 145 and Jung Cha at 155.

Other champions were defending regional champion Wilber Salas of Wakefield at 98, Narin Sihavong of Stuart at 112 and Craig Phipps of Jefferson at 119.

Gunston District:

West Potomac had three champions and four runnersup to defeat second place Hayfield, 206-189.5.

The Wolverines' champions were Matt McCarton at 112, Tom Ruff at 126 and Jim McMichael at 155. Finishing second were Greg Ryan at 119, John Gluck at 132, John King at 185 and Brett Dodson at unlimited.

Hayfield's champions included tournament Most Valuable Wrestler John Watson, who is 21-0 at 132, Tom Park at 98, Scott Smith at 138 and Quincy Lewis at 176.

Edison finshed third with four champions. John Kim at 105, Scott Matheny at 167, Chris Summit, who scored a 12-second pin at 185 and Greg Redden at unlimited.

Mount Vernon and Lee each had one champion. The Majors' Chris Cox won at 145 while the Lancers' Randy Johnson was victorious at 119.