A Washington Post Magazine article about a private psychiatric hospital in suburban Maryland has won the Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild's Bill Pryor Memorial Award grand prize in the 1989 Front Page Awards contest.

The piece, "The Mystery of Chestnut Lodge" by Sandra G. Boodman, also won first place in the features category.

The other categories and winners are:

National news: Barton Gellman of The Post for "Two Worlds of Justice Clash in D.C.," a story about an extradition battle in connection with a fire bombing in Gadsden, Ala.

Frank C. Porter Award for Labor and Business Reporting: Jon Morgan, the Evening Sun, for a three-part series on the Baltimore port titled "Port Wars."

Non-daily specialized or technical reporting: Julia Whitmore, the Bureau of National Affairs, for an article headlined "Abusive Billing Practices."

Public service: The Post won first prize for a two-part series about racial flare-ups in Virginia Beach during the Greekfest celebration on Labor Day weekend. The articles were written by Dana Priest, Lynne Duke, Lynda Richardson and Steve Bates with reporting by DeNeen L. Brown, Stephen C. Fehr, Pierre Thomas and Lisa Leff.

Morton Mintz Award for Investigative Reporting: Rick Atkinson and Chris Spolar of The Post for a two-part series about District of Columbia public housing, "A Legacy of Despair."

Local news: Gellman of The Post won first prize for "Aftermath of a Southeast Shooting Offers Few Answers," a story about a racially motivated shooting rampage in the District.

Sports: Ross Peddicord of the Evening Sun won first prize for "Beloved Horses May End Up on Dinner Table," a story about how many thoroughbreds that are auctioned are slaughtered and sold to European food outlets.

Commentary/Criticism: Edward L. Gunts, architecture critic for the Baltimore Sun, won first prize for selected articles.

The winners in the newspaper design category:

Sheri Taylor of the Baltimore Sun won first prize for her "Just for the Fun of It" page in the newspaper's Today in Style section.

Jonathan Massie of the Evening Sun won first prize in the news graphic category for an earthquake graphic.

Recipients of honorable mentions:

Stephenie A. Overman, an at-large member of the union, non-daily specialized or technical reporting; Alice Steinbach, the Baltimore Sun, public service; Marina Sarris of the Baltimore Sun's Anne Arundel County Sun, the Morton Mintz Award for Investigative Reporting; Mike Klingaman, the Evening Sun, sports; Dan Rodricks, the Evening Sun, commentary/criticism; Patrick A. McGuire, the Baltimore Sun, features.

In the newspaper design categories, honorable mentions were awarded to Melissa Brown, art director, and Lane Smith, illustrator, the Sun Magazine; and Joseph Hutchinson, the Baltimore Sun, for graphics.