Fifteen teachers in the Washington region were honored last night as recipients of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards, presented annually by The Washington Post.

The awards were established in 1983 in memory of Agnes Meyer, whose husband, Eugene Meyer, was publisher of The Post from 1933 to 1946. Agnes Meyer was a writer, lecturer, lobbyist and philanthropist in public education.

The 15 teachers, nominated by their local school systems, were each awarded $3,000 and a crystal apple. They are:

Rose A. Avent, a kindergarten and Montessori teacher at Key Elementary School in Arlington County.

Joyce Bruchey, an enrichment teacher at Green Valley and Parkway Elementary schools in Frederick County.

Flavius B. Hall Jr., an art teacher at Featherstone and Dumfries Elementary schools in Prince William County.

Ruth Ann Horn, a fifth-grade teacher at George C. Round Elementary School in Manassas.

Marva G. Johnson, a mathematics teacher at Bunker Hill Elementary School in the District.

Janice Yurchik Knestrick, an art teacher at Manassas Park High School.

Brenda Lamberson-Sias, a fifth-grade teacher at Mount Vernon Community School in Alexandria.

Charles Richard Micklos, a sixth-grade teacher at West Meade Elementary School in Anne Arundel County.

Edith Jones Middleton, a mathematics teacher at Loudoun County High School.

Jo Ellen Smallwood, an English resource teacher at Quince Orchard High School in Mongtomery County.

Dorothea H. Smith, a language and reading teacher at John Hanson Middle School in Charles County.

Robert W. Snee, a Spanish teacher at George Mason Junior and Senior High School in Falls Church.

Jane G. Vaccaro, a physical education teacher at Bryant Woods Elementary School in Howard County.

Susan E. Vogel, a social studies teacher at Northwestern High School in Prince George's County.

Vern S. Williams, a mathematics teacher at Longfellow Intermediate School in Fairfax County.