Lovettsville Student Wins Scholarship

Jennifer Keller, a recent graduate of Loudoun Valley High School, has won a $10,000 scholarship from the Kiwanis Club of Goose Creek. Keller, a Lovettsville resident, will use the money to attend James Madison University. The scholarship is the largest amount awarded to a student in Loudoun County and is given on the basis of academics, extracurricular activities, volunteerism and some financial need to attend college.

Marshall History Campaign

Edward B. Hatrick III has been appointed chairman of the newly formed Leesburg Marshall Campaign Committee, a six-week program to inform town and county residents about the history of World War II Gen. George C. Marshall and his home, Dodona Manor. Hatrick, an assistant superintendent of Loudoun Public Schools, also was elected to the board of directors of the Marshall Home Preservation Fund, established to purchase Dodona Manor.

School Posts Filled

Janice Christopher has been appointed supervisor of the guidance program for Loudoun Public Schools and Evan E. Mohler has been appointed director of the facilities services department.

Christopher, an assistant superintendent with the Berkeley County, W.Va., schools, joins Loudoun after 24 years as an educator with experience in guidance. She replaces D. Bruce Holland, who is moving to North Carolina.

Mohler, assistant principal at Seneca Ridge Middle School, has been with Loudoun Public Schools for 26 years.

Arts Conference Grant

John Gardecki of Middleburg has won a grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts to attend a San Diego conference on community cultural planning. Gardecki, who is working toward a master's degree in arts administration at Columbia University, will represent the Loudoun Arts Council.

10K Race Winners

Timothy Frederick, of Leesburg, and Leslie Minnick-Wolf, of Alexandria, were the top male and female winners of the second annual Northern Virginia Building Industry Association Loudoun County 10K. The race was run June 10. Proceeds will benefit the Loudoun County Transitional Homeless Facility, which will open in December. Other winners: Steve Clark, Susan Haney, Felicity Shepherd and Jeff VanHorn.