Athlete Wins Award

Kristina Soderquist, of Arlington, was recently presented the Claire G. Hobbs Memorial Award at Fordham University for her outstanding sportsmanship, citizenship, leadership and dedication. Soderquist was also named Most Valuable Player for Women's Tennis at Fordham.

48 Lawyers Honored

Forty-eight lawyers were honored recently for their 50 years of membership in the Virginia State Bar. Recipients of the Certificate of Appreciation were: Jodie Lee Atkins, of Hampton; Norman Bernheimer, of Alexandria; Newell Blair, of Alexandria; E. Parker Brown, of Richmond; Stuart E. Brown Jr., of Berryville; William W. Carson, of Warrenton; William Fields Carter, of Martinsville; Duncan McRae Cocke, of Williamsburg; Martha Bell Conway, of Richmond; Thomas C. Crouch Jr., of Richmond; J.B.T.T. Davies, of Arlington; Abraham J. Dere, of Richmond; William A. Dickinson, of Roanoke; Perry Fine, of Norfolk; James William Fletcher, of Sperryville; John S. Forsythe, of Alexandria; Griffin T. Garnett Jr., of Arlington; Harold M. Gouldman Jr., of Montross; Alfred A. Greenwood, of Alexandria; J. Newton Harman III, of Welch, W.Va.; Edward F. Howrey, of Upperville; William V.T. Justis, of Herndon; Everette MacIntyre, of Arlington; John A. MacKenzie, of Norfolk; George M. Martin, of Leesburg; Julien Jacqulin Mason, of Bowling Green; Hugh S. Meredith, of Norfolk; E. Conway Moncure, of Richmond; H.L. Opie Jr., of Staunton; H. Merril Pasco, of Richmond; Richard F. Pence, of Roanoke; Bolling R. Powell Jr., of Gloucester; George Richardson III, of Bluefield, W.Va.; E.S. Roby Jr., of Kenbridge; Francis C. Rosenberger, of McLean; William Coates Rountrey, of Altavista; William A. Royall, of Alexandria; Robert M. Saunders, of Newport News; Henry J. Schrieberg, of Richmond; Philip Hairston Seawell, of Newport News; Robert Lee Simpson, of Virginia Beach; Downing Lemuel Smith, of Charlottesville; Moody Eason Stallings, of Suffolk; Lewis P. Summers III, of Arlington; Lanier Thurmond, of Richmond; Randolph W. Tucker, of Staunton; Robert Jerald Watkins, of Poquoson; and G. Garland Wilson, of Radford.

Youth Oratorical Contest

Michael Lewis, 12, of Alexandria, was awarded first place in the third annual Oratorical Contest for the Hearing Impaired, sponsored by the Optimist Club of Alexandria. The contest was open to hearing impaired children in public and private schools in Alexandria and Fairfax County. It is an effort to encourage and reward students who strive to overcome hearing impairments and develop written and oral communication skills.

Students to Attend Institute

Twenty-six rising seniors from public and private schools in the metro area have been selected to attend the Summer Economic Institute at St. Stephen's School in Alexandria. Those selected are: Caroline B. Abbot, Christine Doempke, Carrie Heiden and Bettyanna Duchess Smith from St. Agnes School in Alexandria; Joe McGovern and Antigone Trowbridge from Yorktown High School in Arlington; W. Carter Edsall and S. Justin Krewatch from St. Stephen's School in Alexandria; Daniel C. Ruegg, Michael R. Sheeran and Patrick Q. Sheridan from Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria; Justin Brown, Stacy Elwood and Allison Miller from West Potomac High School in Fairfax County; Kathryn A. Blomgren, Luis Brooks, Sonia Michelle Burke, John Lindeman, Alexander M. Macensky , Bruce Milton, Nneka Ofulue , Manuel D. Salang, Maya Shetreat and Sean Mark Watts from T.C. Williams High School in Alexandria; Chris Smith from Episcopal High School in Alexandria; and Khadijah A. Abdul-Malik from the Islamic-Saudi Academy in Fairfax County.

The six-week intern-work program, sponsored by the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce, St. Stephen's School and local businesses, combines four days a week in the workplace with one day a week devoted to classroom work relating practical experience with theoretical principles of business.

Teacher Gets Fellowship

Thomas C. Hummel, a history and religion teacher at Episcopal High School in Alexandria, joins 168 other secondary teachers from 45 states who have been awarded 1990 fellowships by the Council for Basic Education. Each fellow receives a $3,000 grant to pursue six weeks of summer study on a humanities topic of choice. The fellowships are funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Hummel will study the role of science in shaping values and perceptions in the periods that produced Galileo, Newton, Darwin and Einstein. He will pursue his studies at Oriel College in Oxford, England.

The Council for Basic Education is a national organization that advocates a strong liberal arts education for secondary and elementary students.

Writing Contest Winners

The English Department of George Washington Junior High School in Alexandria honored several seventh- through ninth-graders in its sixth annual writing contest.

The winners are: Ben Macensky and Tieang Oun in the poetry division; Jenny Hansen and Mark Talbert in the nonfiction category; and Steve Sims and Nelson Duff in fiction. More than 600 entries were submitted, with certificates given to the first-, second- and third-place and honorable mention winners, and cash prizes of $15 for first place, $10 for second, and $5 for third place. The cash prizes were donated by the George Washington Junior High School PTSA.

Please send all People column items to Yasmine Bahrani, Virginia Weekly, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. Photos may be included. Please include the home town of the subject. Materials cannot be returned.