Town of Vienna

The following were among actions taken by the Vienna Town Council at its July 2 meeting. For more information, call 255-6330.

BOND SALE -- The council agreed to a sale of $3.5 million in bonds to fund public improvements. The money will be used for street and sidewalk construction, storm drainage, water and sewer projects, construction of a new police facility and improvements to town parks.

The council will hold a special meeting at noon next Wednesday in the Vienna Town Hall to receive bids on the general obligation bond issue. The town expects to pay back the bonds over 15 years, with revenue generated from utility fees and a recently approved tax on meals and lodging.

BOARD APPOINTMENT -- The council voted unanimously to appoint Michael J. Dombrowski, 30, to the five-member Board of Architectural Review. He assumed the post immediately and will serve until Oct. 1, when the seats on the board are up for reappointment.

Dombrowski, an intern at a local architectural firm, fills the unexpired term of Audrey Brown, who served on the board for about 15 years and has retired and moved out of state.

Board members serve two-year terms.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS -- The council voted to make several appointments to local committees for one-year terms that began July 1.

The council appointed council member Robert B. Dix Jr. as vice mayor and representative to the Northern Virginia Planning District Commission; council member Rodger Seeman, representative to the administrative committee of the town's employees' retirement plan; council member Martha Pruett, liaison to the Fairfax County School Board; council member George Lovelace, representative to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors; council member Vincent Olson, representative to the Centreville District Citizens Park Advisory Council; and council member Robert Robinson, representative to the Town Centennial Committee.

The council also appointed the following people to the Town Charter Review Committee, which reviews Vienna's charter annually: Mayor Charles Robinson, who was named chairman; Robert Robinson, Vincent Olson, Town Manager John Schoeberlein and Town Attorney John Gionfriddo.