A Prince George's County Council member was virtually assured of reelection in November after her only opponent withdrew from the campaign last week.

Democrat Dennis L. Serrette withdrew his candidacy in Prince George's County's 7th District, leaving the field open to council member Hilda R. Pemberton, also a Democrat.

One statewide candidate and about a dozen other local office seekers who had been listed by state officials after the deadline for registering on July 2 decided to withdraw. The deadline for such withdrawals was last Thursday.

Among them was Republican Daniel J. Hurson, who had filed to run for attorney general. His withdrawal will eliminate the need for a primary in that race and leaves Edward L. Blanton Jr. with the Republican nomination.

Also withdrawing was Henry Bain, a Democratic candidate for executive in Montgomery County. His exit leaves the primary battle between County Executive Sidney Kramer and council member Neal Potter.

Also in Prince George's County, Republican Matthew S. Shearer withdrew from the race for the 3rd District County Council seat, leaving the party's nomination to Larry Ronald Goff Sr. There will still be a primary among the five Democrats in that race.

In the county's legislative races, the following people decided not to run: Democrat Norman H. Saunders, who had been seeking a House of Delegates seat from District 27; Democrat Robert M. Dolby, seeking a House of Delegates seat from District 22; and Democrats Jeffrey Lee Harding and Al James Golato, seeking House of Delegates seats from District 23.

Four Democratic candidates for Orphan's Court judge also pulled their names off the ballot: Napoleon Lechoco, F. Anthony McCarthy, Romulo M. Quintos and Timothy Sullivan.

In Anne Arundel County, withdrawals included George J. Acton, a Republican candidate for the District 3 County Council seat. His action leaves the Republican nomination to Carl G. Holland. There will still be a primary among the five Democrats for the seat.

Sharyl L. Wolfe, a Republican candidate for the District 2 County Council seat, also withdrew, but there will still be a primary among the two remaining Republicans.

Gregory A. Rivers, a Democratic candidate for sheriff, also removed his name from the ballot, leaving three Democratic candidates to compete for the nomination.