NVCC Honors Photo Professor

Eliot I. Cohen, professor of photography at Northern Virginia Community College, Loudoun campus, has been named "Faculty Member of the Year" by the NVCC Alumni Federation. One faculty member from each of the college's five campuses is chosen for the award. Recipients are nominated by current and past students of the college, and must demonstrate outstanding teaching ability, scholarship, mastery of their academic discipline and commitment to the intellectual growth and development of their students.

County Assistant's Work Recognized

Deputy County Administrator James R. Keene Jr. has won the Marcia Mashaw Memorial Award from the Virginia Local Government Management Association.

The award is presented annually to the outstanding assistant of a local government. Keene is in charge of development and regulatory agencies under County Administrator Philip A. Bolen.

Waddell Wins Citizens Group Award

State Sen. Charles L. Waddell (D-Loudoun/Fairfax) has won the Madison Award from the Virginia Citizens for a Sound Economy. The group honored Waddell for what it called his "distinguished service to sound economic principles" during the 1990 session of the General Assembly.

Holstein Contest Finalist

Katherine Ellen McComb, of Purcellville, was selected as one of six finalists in the National Distinguished Holstein Youth Contest at the annual National Holstein Convention in Charleston, S.C., last month. McComb also won the $1,000 National Holstein Wives Scholarship.