NAACP Honors Navy Captain

The United States Naval Academy announced that Navy Capt. Anthony J. Watson, the deputy commandant of midshipmen, received the Roy Wilkins Meritorious Service Award at a recent NAACP convention in Los Angeles.

The award is given for distinguished leadership in the promotion of American civil rights.

As a midshipman, Watson was the first black to become regimental commander, responsible for the professional development of half of the academy's student body. As an officer, Watson made history again as the academy's first black deputy commandant, assisting the commandant in leading the 4,500-member brigade of midshipmen.

Watson, originally from Chicago, entered the academy in 1966. He was elected president of his class for his first two years and was awarded the Rear Admiral Draper Kauffman Sword for being the midshipman most likely to become superintendent.

Appointment Announced

Gov. William Donald Schaefer announced the appointment of Marian Schooling Vessels as director of the Governor's Office for Handicapped Individuals.

Vessels, of Ellicott City, was acting director of the handicapped services office for the last four months. From 1987 to 1990, she was executive director of the Governor's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities. Previously, she was employed by the Baltimore City Health Department.

Explorer Conference

Twenty Montgomery County youths representing the Montgomery County Police Explorers with an interest in law enforcement were among the nearly 4,000 young people attending the National Law Enforcement Explorer Conference, held at the University of Colorado in Boulder. The Explorers achieved the distinction of being the only unit to win two trophies and the only group to rank in the top 30 percent in all competitive events. The Explorers won second place in the "Traffic Stop Competition" and third place in the "Crime Prevention Competition."

Representing Montgomery County Police Explorers were Adam Harman, Sandra Jimenez, Colby Poole, Michael Reese, David Abashi, Robert Kellerman, Andrew Shankman, Patricia Jimenez, James Maher, J. Scott Schwarzel, Peter Dame, Robert Horne, Kevin Reese, Chris Stone, Dawn Dowdy, Patrick Mann, Eric Stancliff, Shawn Brodrick, Jayne Snyder, Neal Deitz.

Park Employees Cited

Two employees of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission were honored recently by the Professional Photographers of America Inc. Steve Abramowitz, audio-visual coordinator, and Sharon Davis, graphics coordinator, both with the Public Affairs Office of the Prince George's County Department of Parks and Recreation, received the national excellence award for their design of the commission's 1990 festivities poster.

Scouts Win Top Award

Four Montgomery County Boy Scouts were part of a local patrol that brought home the coveted West Point Cadet Saber, the top award in a recent national competition staged at the U.S. Military Academy in West Point, N.Y.

The local Scouts competed against more than 3,500 representatives of Boy Scout, Girl Scout, Explorer and Civil Air Patrol units.

The local Scouts were Colin Sellar, Paul Manley and Miles King of Bethesda and Rusty Shultz of Glen Echo.

British Medal

William Morgan, of Rockville, is the first American to receive a prestigious British medal designed to honor those who have made "conspicuous contributions to naval architecture and/or shipbuilding." Morgan, who directs the the ship hydromechanics department at the U.S. Navy's David Taylor Research Center in Carderock, received the Royal Institution of Naval Architect's William Froude gold medal at a recent meeting in London.

Among Morgan's contributions cited in the ceremony were advances in ducted propeller theory, design of advanced propulsors for surface ships, submarines and torpedos and the design of the first highly skewed propellers for a merchant ship.

Please send all People column items to Pat Kraft, The Washington Post, 3 Church Circle, Annapolis, Md. 21401. Photos may be included. Please include the home town of the subject.