Teacher Elected to Union Post

Susie C. Jablinske, of Annapolis, has been elected to the six-person Executive Committee of the National Education Association. Jablinske has been an Anne Arundel County teacher for 25 years. She also served six years as president of the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County, most recently from 1986 to 1990. Jablinske is the first Maryland classroom teacher to achieve such high office in the national teachers organization.

University Woman of the Year

Eleanor Jones, of Asbury Village in Gaithersburg, was named Woman of the Year by the Maryland Division of the American Association of University Women. Jones is past president of both the Charles County and Gaithersburg branches of the group.

Opera Fellowship

Debra Blount, of Silver Spring, has been selected for one of three 1990-91 administrative fellowships awarded by Opera America of Washington, D.C. Blount received a degree in vocal performance from Catholic University and has performed with the Summer Opera Theater Company, Prince George's Civic Opera and the Catholic University School of Music Opera. Opera America is a nonprofit service organization for professional opera companies.

5 Local Academic Champs

Five Maryland students and their coaches were awarded gold championship rings at the National Tournament of Academic Excellence. Rockville High School students Stephanie Bartosz, Basil Eldadah, Sharon Kristal and David Mitchell and Walt Whitman High School student James Kindt captured third place in the June competition at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. Each student will receive a $500 scholarship, and team captain Kristal will receive an additional $1,000 scholarship for being chosen as one of the top six players in the quiz bowl tournament. The team was coached by Rockville High English teacher Kevin Keegan and his assistant, John Nam.