The 15,000 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists whose names were announced last week include 58 private and public high school seniors from the District.

The District has six fewer semifinalists than it had last year. Four of the semifinalists are seniors in D.C. public schools.

These students have reached the first tier in a three-part competiton. About 90 percent of the 15,000 semifinalists are expected to become finalists and will be eligible for thousands of dollars in scholarships.

The 36-year-old scholarship competition is based on a student's score on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test, a multiple choice test taken during the junior year.

Semifinalists must submit a detailed scholarship application, including a self-description, information about extracurricular activities and long-term educational goals. An independent committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors will then select the finalists, who will be offered a $2,000 scholarship and will be eligible for corporate-sponsored and college-sponsored scholarships.



Calvin Coolidge H.S. Meta D. Jones

Woodrow Wilson H.S. Celia A. Curtis Ryan E. Moore Michael R. Zurer


The Field School Eli J. Hawkins Thomas J. Kane

Georgetown Day H.S. Alexandra S. Gerber Thomas L. Graham Marcus E. Jackson Sara C. Kaplan Natasha H. Leland Gayle E. Maslow Benjamin Means Daniel H. Nexon Rebecca L. Tushnet

Gonzaga College H.S. Frank S. Black John M. Maloney Peter J. Riehm Peter J. Schissel Steven C. Schoenecker

National Cathedral School Alexis L. Barr Emily S. Brunner Liza K. Graham Genevieve L. Preer Ingrid I. Schroder Lee A. Snyder Susanna P. Witt

Sidwell Friends School Sebastian M. Banker Michael J. Byrne Jesse A. Davidson Megan A. Hester Charlotte J. Kaiser Dorothy L. Mares Hyung S. Ryu Lorin H. Stein David M. Walendowski Nathaniel Wicks Monique M. Williams

St. Alban's School For Boys Roger P. Alexander David B. Arbury Michael D. Banta Won T. Choe Luigi C. Cicala Eric W. Fitz Sydney J. Freedberg Simon M. Greenwold Joseph D. Hackel Kenneth D. Koenig E. Lester Lazarus Joel E. Moore Geoffrey S. Redmond Matt Ross Robert W. Ross Clarence W. Rowley Eric S. Schreiber Tao Semko

St. Anselm's Abbey School John C. Hume John P. Sheahan

Washington International School David L. Feldman