Honoring Artists

The U.S. Postal Service and the Lovettsville Citizens Association will hold a reception to honor artist Pierre Mion, Bluemont Concert Series director Peter Dunning, Loudoun County High School teacher and writer Clark Hansbarger, Loudoun School of Ballet teacher and choreographer Sheila Hoffman-Robertson and U.S. Media Corp. film director/producer Stephen M. Brooks for their contributions to the arts.

The reception will be at 9:30 a.m. Saturday at the Lovettsville Community Center.

Paintings, stamps and cards by Mion, including a card featuring the 25-cent Virginia Statehood Stamp and the 15-cent Beach Umbrella Stamp, will be on display at the community center and the Lovettsville Post Office.

Hansbarger will present a reading, and a screening of Brooks's film "All the Unsung Heroes," about the Vietnam War Memorial, is scheduled.

Health Codes Chief

Larry D. Yates has been named chief of the environmental health division of the Loudoun County Health Department.

In his new job, Yates, senior sanitarian for the division, will manage a staff of environmental health professionals who enforce state and local standards for the quality of public food service, lodging and other areas.

Named to State Panel

Carmen R. Nazario, director of social services for Loudoun County, has been appointed to the state Task Force on Domestic Violence by Virginia Attorney General Mary Sue Terry.

The 25-member task force will study domestic violence cases across the state and examine the state legal system's response and effectiveness.