New Helpline Director Chosen

Action in Community Through Service has named Shirley Hopkins as director of Helpline, a crisis listening, information and referral phone service for local residents.

Helpline operates 24 hours a day and can make referrals to more than 10,000 community resources.

Hopkins has lived in the county since 1978 and began as a Helpline volunteer in 1985. She became assistant director in 1988. She also is involved in the expansion of Helpline's Teleteen and Phone-A-Friend programs.

Helpline's program assistant, Vickie Graham, was promoted to assistant director. Graham has been a part of the program since 1986. Susan Anderson, who worked as a volunteer for Helpline and the Sexual Assault Victim's Advocacy Service, became program assistant.

8 Residents Named to County Boards

The Prince William Board of County Supervisors has appointed the following Occoquan District residents to several county boards and commissions:

Barbara Kuester was named to the Housing Advisory Board as the financial community representative and Ethel Georges as a citizen-at-large. The board advises supervisors on housing for low- and moderate-income families.

Christine McKenna and Steven Shwartzman were appointed to the Historical Commission as the Occoquan District representative and a member-at-large, respectively. The commission assists the board in preservation and protection of historic sites. It is compiling data for an oral history program, and a video and audio project dealing with county roads and sites.

Robert Agnew was chosen as a representative to the Industrial Development Authority, which promotes industy and trade development in the county and state.

Clancy McQuigg was appointed citizen representative to the Zoning Ordinance Review Committee and will provide citizen input during the updating of the county's Comprehensive Plan.

Mary Ray was named as alternate to the Commission on Aging. This commission promotes a better understanding of the elderly in the Prince William area.

Nathan Hissong, a student at Woodbridge High, was selected as the student representative to the Highway Safety Commission. He has been involved in activities sponsored by the county's Office on Youth. The Highway Safety Commission was formed to study ways of improving highway safety and fighting drunk driving.

Please send People column items to Camille Ross, The Washington Post, 13663 Office Pl., Suite 104, Woodbridge, Va. 22192.