Teacher Named Top Citizen

The Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce has named Loudoun schoolteacher Rhoderick H. Wood as its Citizen of the Year for 1990. Wood, who was presented the award at a banquet this month, was honored by the chamber for "his longstanding commitment to the youth of Loudoun County and the development of their understanding of business." Wood is a business teacher.

Leader of Government Finance Officers

M.E. "Mickey" Poole, director of financial services for Loudoun County, has been elected president of the Government Finance Officers Association of the Washington Metropolitan Area. Poole has served in his Loudoun job since July 1988 and has been with the county for 21 years. He is a past president of the Virginia Government Finance Officers Association. Poole lives in Leesburg with his wife, Charlotte, and their children, Nathan and Andrew.

New Library Officers Elected

The Loudoun County Public Library Foundation has elected new officers and board members. Officers are George V. Hart, of Leesburg, president; James Carr, of Round Hill, and Linda Conti-White, of Sterling, vice presidents; Betty Stowe, of Round Hill, secretary; and Susan M. Koller, of Leesburg, treasurer.

Board members are Lina Baber, of Hillsboro; Zora "Mac" Brownell, of Bluemont; Patricia Devine, of Leesburg; Jeannine Reynolds, of Leesburg; Linda Cox, of Waterford; Glenn Garte, of Sterling; and James Callahan, of Sterling.

The foundation was formed in 1984 to raise money for the county's public library system.

Nine Honored in Social Services

The Loudoun County Department of Social Services has honored nine staff members for outstanding achievement in their fields. They are Jeannine Reynolds, a social worker; Michele Ransom, an eligibility worker, who determines whether applicants are eligible for services requested; Dinah Ditton, an adult services supervisor; Catherine Johnson, a receptionist; Marilyn Messina, an eligibility worker; Sara Elliott, an administrative assistant; Karen Flint, an eligibility worker; Ellen Grunewald, a coordinator of programs for young parents; and Susan-Jane Stack, a community relations specialist.