Marshall Students Enter Competition

An eight-member team from Marshall High School in Fairfax will compete next week for college scholarships against teams from area school districts in the Contel Technology Award program. Scott Cartier, Annie Collier, Carey Dietz, Brej Gruskin, Danielle Hill, Debi Lee, David Lynn and Jeremy Roberts will submit an oral and a written proposal for improving the environment through technology. Judges from private industry and academia will assess the proposals.

Scholarship Winners

Senior Amy Martin of W.T. Woodson High School in Fairfax and senior Amorette Stiles of Osbourn Park High School in Manassas are two of five people from across the United States who were recently awarded $1,000 college scholarships each from The Learning Channel.

Both Martin and Stiles were chosen based on their answers to specific questions from the cable television program and support materials the students provided indicating how they use TLC programming.

Fire Department Deputy

After 30 years of service to the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department, Glenn A. Gaines, of Vienna, was recently promoted to chief deputy fire chief, making him second in command of the 1,100-member department. Gaines began his career as a volunteer with the Dunn Loring Volunteer Fire Department, rising to assistant chief in charge of training. He then became a career firefighter with the county in 1964, serving as deputy chief in the operations division.

Sheriff Named to Panel

Alexandria Sheriff James H. Dunning has been named to the national Commission on Accreditation for Corrections for a six-year term. The 20-member commission governs the accreditation process for correctional facilities and programs throughout the United States and Canada.

The commission, affiliated with the American Correctional Association, was formed in 1974 to develop and implement standards for corrections and to manage an accreditation program.

Teacher Secures Grants

Anne Ross, a first-grade teacher at St. Agnes School in Alexandria, has received a $5,000 grant from the Washington Forrest Foundation and a $20,000 grant from the Robinson Foundation to establish a chemical dependence prevention program for youngsters in kindergarten through fifth grade. Recently, Ross used a portion of those grants to pay for a visit by the Blue Skye Puppet Theatre to St. Agnes School for a presentation on alcohol and drug issues.

Architect Given Award

Hugh B. Johnson, of Arlington, was recently honored with the William C. Noland Award, the highest given by the Virginia Society of the American Institute of Architects. Johnson, long active with the Northern Virginia Section of the institute, helped form the Virginia Society in 1976. In addition to national honors, Johnson has been recognized with a 1974 Virginia Society Distinguished Service Award, a 1981 Northern Virginia Chapter AIA Award of Honor, and a rare award from the institute's Regional Development and Natural Resources Committee, on which he has served since 1964. Johnson's 39-year practice with the firm of McGaughan & Johnson was distinguished by four design awards before his retirement in 1986.

Please send all People column items to Yasmine Bahrani, Virginia Weekly, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. Photos may be included. Please include the home town of the subject. Materials cannot be returned.