Last week, the Archaeological Society of Virginia presented Michael F. Johnson, of Falls Church, with its Professional Archaeologist of the Year award.

Since 1978, Johnson has been a staff archaeologist with the Heritage Resources Branch of the Fairfax County Office of Comprehensive Planning.

He was commended for his contributions to preservations in Fairfax County, his work with volunteers in Northern Virginia and for his efforts to advance archaeological education and site preservation at the national level. Disabled Citizens Awards

Martha Glennan, of McLean, was recently presented with the 1990 Disabled Citizens Award by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors.

Glennan is the founder and president of Project Word Inc., a Dunn Loring nonprofit organization aimed at providing information, education and support to people with physical disabilities.

The 1990 Disabled Student Award was presented to Anthony Colosi, of Sterling, who is a senior at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology with an almost perfect grade-point average. He is also a National Merit semifinalist. Military Families Leader

Susan W. Bushey, family ombudsman-at-large for the chief of Naval Operations, was recently elected president of the National Military Family Association for 1991.

In her position with the chief of Naval Operations, the Arlington resident manages communication between the Navy's top officer and Navy ombudsmen, service members and their families.

The National Military Family Association, an independent nonprofit organization, represents the interests of family members in the categories of active duty, reserve component and retired personnel of the seven uniformed services. National Writing Award

Alyssa Perroy, a senior at Robinson Secondary School in Fairfax, recently won the National Council of Teachers of English in Writing Award for her short story "My Quest for R and R."

Her story, one of 11 winners from Virginia, was selected from more than 4,000 entries nationwide.

Students submitted their stories to two judges, one a high school English teacher, the other a college English professor. The writings were judged on content and overall quality.

The award honors outstanding achievement in the English language by high school juniors. Sportsman's Club Elections

Eddie Crane, a retired sportswriter, was recently elected the 42nd president of the Alexandria Sportsman's Club, succeeding Charles Pikrallidas.

Crane, a native Alexandrian, was sports editor of the Alexandria Gazette and scholastic sports editor of the Washington Star during a 40-year career in journalism.

In 1961, he was president of the Alexandria Club of Grandstand Managers.

Elected to serve with Crane in 1991 were Joe Hensley, first vice president; Ken Foran, second vice president; Ray Cobean, secretary; Jim Worden, treasurer; Carlton Schelhorn, chaplin; and Bill Braswell, sergeant at arms.

Elected to the Board of Governors at the annual meeting were Steve D'Antuono, Ken Eberhart, Dick Hundemer, Jim Igoe, Bill Jones, Bill Long, Donald Payne, Bernie Penn, Frank Simmons and Joe Wood.

Please send People column items to Yasmine Bahrani, Virginia Weekly, The Washington Post, 1150 15th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20071. Photos may be included. Please include the home town of the subject. Materials cannot be returned.