At a meeting Feb. 6, ANC 1C did the following:

Created several committees and named chairpersons for each: zoning, planning and housing, chairwoman, Grace Malakoff; transportation and parking, Peter Schott; youth and recreation, William Arrington; personal safety and security, David Rossi; environment, recycling and trash, Edward G. Jackson. Residents interested in serving on these committees should contact the ANC office at 332-2630.

Passed a resolution opposing city budget cuts that will reduce summer jobs and affect programs for youth and the elderly.

Agreed to adopt existing bylaws without any amendments.

Adopted a fiscal 1991 budget of $35,983.

Approved contracts to employ two office staff members.

Heard a report on the new restaurant shuttle sponsored by the 18th and Columbia Road Business Association, which began running Feb. 1. The shuttle runs from the Atlantic Garage Inc. on T Street NW across from the Washington Hilton to several locations in Adams Morgan from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays.

Heard a complaint from residents that a Feb. 2 party at the former roller rink at 1649 Kalorama Rd. NW was too loud and that police were called to the scene. They also complained about debris and trash around vendors' stands on Columbia Road NW.

Heard a presentation from the Good Shepherd Ministries, 1650 Fuller St. NW, about an after-school program for junior high school students. About 20 students participate in the program, which includes a basketball team, computer access and supervision of homework.

Announced an application by the Green Door to establish a residential facility for mentally handicapped adults at 2716 Ontario Rd. NW. For more information, call Commissioner Jackson at 332-2630 or the Gail Chow at the Green Door, 462-4092.


At a town hall meeting Jan. 8, ANC 1D did the following:

Reviewed its opposition to a proposal to replace the 62-year-old classical revival mansion that houses the Turkish Chancery at 2523 Massachusetts Ave. NW with a larger building. Residents said they opposed the demolition because the building lies in two historic districts, one along Massachusetts Avenue NW and one in Sheridan/Kalorama.

At a Foreign Missions Board of Zoning Adjustment hearing Jan. 16, four State Department officials argued on behalf of the Republic of Turkey, and the board ruled to allow the demolition. State Department officials said they supported the plan in order to maintain solid ties with Turkey in view of the Persian Gulf situation.

Agreed to support ANC 2B's opposition to an Alcohol Beverage Control Board liquor license application by the Royal Palace Nightclub, 1805 Connecticut Ave. NW. Residents said the nightclub was inappropriate for the neighborhood because it allows topless dancing and because of its proximity to St. Margaret's Episcopal Church, 1820 Connecticut Ave. NW.

The new ANC 1D commissioners are Breck Arrington, chairman, 332-2394, and Judy Brunton, 234-5112. They are soliciting volunteers to serve on various committees.


At a meeting Feb. 5, ANC 1E did the following:

Heard a request by Centro Comunal Unidad, at 1470 Irving St. NW, for a $500 grant to renovate part of its facilities. The ANC will vote on the request at its March meeting.

Appointed David Rosin, El Perlman and Toba Spitzer as representatives to the board of directors of Mainstreet Inc., a community organization interested in revitalizing Mount Pleasant Street NW.

The task force on community policing will meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Mount Pleasant Library, 16th and Lamont streets NW.

A town hall meeting on D.C. statehood will be held at 7 p.m. Feb. 28 at Mount Pleasant Library.


At a meeting Jan. 31, Council member Charlene Drew Jarvis (D-Ward 4) installed the following officers to one-year terms: Amanda Hatcher Lyons, chairman; Vannie Taylor III, vice chairman; Ralston C. Matthews, recording secretary; Susie J. Carpenter, corresponding secretary; Maurice A. Alexander, treasurer; Anthony Muhammad, assistant treasurer; Beverly Neal, parliamentarian, and Katie Crawley, sergeant-at-arms. Other ANC 4B commissioners are Merle Goldberg, Charlie Glenn, Alice W. Gilmore and Edna S. Southerland.