Scholarship Recipients

Four Prince George's County students were among 20 in the Washington area to receive the Hispanic American Commitment to Educational Resources Scholarship presented yesterday in Arlington. They are Natali Fani and Rosa Lee Romero, of Northwestern High School in Hyattsville; Dalissa Cruz, of High Point High School in Beltsville; and Mario Salas, of Laurel High School. They each received $1,500 to go toward their college education. The scholarship program, sponsored by the Ronald McDonald House Charities, has awarded more than $5 million in scholarships in the last 10 years. They are awarded to students in the Hispanic community, based on academic achievement, community service and financial need.

Association Elects Officers

The South County Economic Development Association recently elected its officers--all of whom are Fort Washington residents. These officers will serve a three-year term and preside over a board of eight other members. Nathaniel K. Tutt, chief executive officer of N.K. Tutt and Associates, was elected president. He has more than 30 years of management and leadership experience as a senior hospital administrator and human resources executive. Ollie P. Anderson, president of Anderson Associates, was elected vice president. He is a founding member of the association and has more than 38 years of management experience in the State Department, Congress and the military.

Caroline Wills, elected secretary, is a practicing lawyer and president of New Initiatives. She has more than 25 years of professional experience in the government and private industry and has been a corporate secretary for both profit and nonprofit organizations. Eugene Clark, elected treasurer, is the president and treasurer of Clark Associates. For more than 40 years, he has worked with the D.C. Health Department and the D.C. Bureau of Laboratories.

Elected correspondence secretary was Renee W. Spivey. She is the owner of Metro Data Presentations. She was the secretary for a U.S. District Court judge and has more than 20 years of federal government service. Eddie Tobias, the executive director of the Prince George's County Housing Development Corp., was elected parliamentarian. He has been city manager of Seat Pleasant and manager of his own consulting firm.

Teacher of the Year

Leslie M. Grahn, a foreign language teacher at Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Center in Beltsville, was named Prince George's Teacher of the Year by the Maryland State Department of Education. As a teacher of the year, Grahn will be an adviser to the state education department, along with teachers from each county in the state.

Phi Kappa Phi Inductee

Danielle Stein, a Laurel resident and senior broadcasting major at Syracuse University, was inducted last month into the Syracuse chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. To qualify, Stein ranked in the top 10 percent of her class.

Freshmen Scholars

Elizabeth Seton High School, a college-preparatory school for young women in Bladensburg, recognized 13 incoming freshman of the Class of 2003 as "Scholars." Nine of the students are from Prince George's County.

They are Kathryn Barrow and Rosemary Deane, of Laurel; Katherine Campbell and Michia Johnson, of Forestville; Adrin Dawkins, of Cheverly; Stacy Irwin, of Upper Marlboro; Jane McGrath, of College Park; Sandra Ricketts, of Landover Hills; and Hannah Skopek, of Bowie. These students were recognized for outstanding academic achievement and leadership potential. They will receive a renewable, four-year scholarship and participate in honors-level and Advanced Placement classes.

If you have an item for Names in the News, please let us know. Fax to 301-952-1397, e-mail to or write to Names in the News, Prince George's Extra, The Washington Post, 14402 Old Mill Rd., Suite 201, Upper Marlboro, Md. 20772.