Student Leaders Honored

Sharman Warrick of Huntingtown was presented with Charles County Community College's President's Cup, the college's highest student leadership award. Ida Hyman of Waldorf and Michael Smith, also of Waldorf, were both awarded the Dean's Cup, which is given annually to students who have made major behind-the-scenes contributions to the college.

Working Woman of the Year

Patricia Canfield, office manager at Chaney Enterprises headquarters in Waldorf, recently was named Working Woman of the Year by the Charles County Chamber of Commerce.

The award, which included gifts of a briefcase, a desk pen, jewelry and a make over, was presented during the chamber's 30th annual Working Woman's Appreciation Day. Canfield, who has been with Chaney for 25 years, was selected for the honor by a committee of former chamber presidents.

Other award nominees were Regina Anderson of Dennis Anderson Construction Co., Shane Burch of Spring Dell Center Inc., Becky Jackson of Applied Ordnance Technology Inc., Diane Jackson of Waldorf Ford and Dodge, Ruth Ellyn Peed of Charles County Public Schools, Lt. Susan Rice of the Charles County sheriff's office, Terry Stancliff of Charles County Office Furniture and Joyce Woodard of Borders Books & Music.

Excelling With Volunteers

Bonnie Bankhead, volunteer coordinator at St. Mary's Hospital in Leonardtown, recently received a certificate in management of volunteer programs.

The certificate, from Norwich University Center for Volunteer Administration at Vermont College in Montpelier, Vt., was based on the completion of an independent study program for those who manage unpaid staff.

School Employee Saluted

Carol Sypolt was named the 1999 Support Person of the Year for the Calvert County public school system. Sypolt works in the system's Department of Pupil Services.

Environmental Honor for School

Hollywood Elementary School in St. Mary's County was selected as a Governor's "Green School." The award recognizes a school's efforts to integrate environmental studies into instruction, model best environmental practices and extend learning into the community.

Science Teacher a Finalist

Claudia Wortman, a science teacher at Great Mills High School, was a finalist in the 1999 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Teacher of the Year

Ronald Grosche of California, the culinary arts teacher at the St. Mary's County Technical Center, was chosen as the school system's Teacher of the Year. He has worked in St. Mary's schools for nine years.

School Wins Reading Contest

St. Mary's Green Holly School was named the regional winner in Gov. Parris N. Glendening's Reading Across Maryland competition. Green Holly beat out 38 schools from St. Mary's, Calvert and Charles counties, with its students each reading an average of 58 books.

School Staffers Recognized

Five Charles County public schools support staff members were recognized for their outstanding work: James Earl Swann, building service manager at Mattawoman Middle School; Thelma Bulter, food service worker at John Hanson Middle School; Shirley Duckett, instructional assistant at Malcolm Elementary School; Harry "Tucker" Huntington, a plumber at the system's maintenance shop; and Barbara Tillman, secretary to the principal at Berry Elementary School.

Odyssey of the Mind

Teams from Milton M. Somers Middle School, Thomas Stone High School and La Plata High School placed at the 20th annual Odyssey of the Mind World Finals, held recently at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

The Somers team placed 10th in its division, the Stone team placed 20th in its division, and the La Plata team placed 18th in its division.

Graduating With Honors

Leonardtown native Cynthia Marie Norris a recently graduated cum laude with a bachelor's of science in chemistry from Randolph-Macon College. Norris, a member of Phi Beta Kappa, also was awarded the Hall Canter Memorial Award for outstanding achievement in chemistry.

Sixth-Grader's Letter Wins

Kevin Fallon, a sixth-grader at Plum Point Middle School, won a Letters About Literature contest sponsored by the Maryland Center for the Book. Fallon was awarded $100 for his letter about the book "It's Like This, Cat" by author Emily Cheney Neville. His letter described the changes that took place in his own life as a result of reading the book.

Patuxent Wins FBLA Award

The Future Business Leaders of America said that the Maryland Outstanding Chapter of the Year is from Patuxent High School in Calvert County.

This is the first time that a chapter has earned this award in its inaugural year. The chapter has 35 members, led by business education teacher Melissa Carnes.

Computer Bowl Competitors

La Plata High School's team placed second and Maurice J. McDonough High School's team placed third in the Southern Maryland Computer Bowl.

Members of the La Plata team were Brian Jobe, Joe West, Paul Badgley and Dustin Bitterman. McDonough team members were Mike Nunziata, Jon Pollock, Allen Corrice and Joe Michela.