Eagle Awards

Four Boy Scouts from Troop 716 in Cheverly attained the rank of Eagle, the highest in scouting, at a court of honor ceremony June 13.

They are Andrew Dickman, 16, a senior at Eleanor Roosevelt High School; Dave Friebele, 18, a graduate of the Edmund Burke School; Paul Park, 18, a graduate of Sidwell Friends School; and Jeremy Siegel, 18, a graduate of St. Anselm's Abbey School.

Also attaining the Eagle ranking was Alex Dzwonchyk, 16, of Laurel. Dzwonchyk, a student at St. Vincent Pallotti High School, received the award during a court of honor ceremony held June 25.

Director Named

Marietta A. Plank, former director of technical services at the University of Maryland Libraries, College Park, has been named executive director of the Chesapeake Information and Research Library Alliance. The alliance is made up of libraries from the District, Delaware and Maryland. Its goal is to provide effective management to increase levels of cooperation among members.

Honor Society

Five Prince George's County public school students were recently inducted by the Northern Virginia Urban League into the Thurgood Marshall Honor Society. The students, Crystal Perkins of Kettering Middle School; Sharince Jackson of Chillum Elementary School; Amir Rasyon of James Ryder Randall Elementary School; Jennifer Strong of Friendly High School; and Arrin Richards of Fort Washington Forest Elementary School, joined 35 other metropolitan area students who were inducted this year. The students were chosen from more than 100 applications submitted to the Northern Virginia Urban League.

Recognition Lunch

County high school valedictorians and salutatorians recently were honored by Pepsi-Cola and the Spirit of Washington ship with a luncheon aboard the ship. Students from 20 high schools were recognized by the school superintendent and school board members. The luncheon also was attended by students' families and friends. Guests were treated to a lunch buffet, an awards presentation, a tour of the Potomac River and the Spirit's trademark musical revue, "Party Time."

Students who attended the luncheon were Marie Mueller and Daniel Dutrow of Bowie High; Krystin Richardson and Ja'Net Pettus of Fairmont Heights High; Habeeba Park and Aleksey Nazarov of High Point High; Latasha Tucker and Erica Wilson of Forestville High; Mai Nguyen, Brett Shilling and Hallet Brazelton of Oxon Hill High; Chinwe Obunagke Madu and Tolulope Olowomeye of DuVal High; Kellie Radford and Tiffany Greenwood of Bladensburg High; Ayanna Clarke and Natalie Samuel of Largo High; Lesley Newman and Aaron Carrington of Potomac High; Iman Newman and Jenelle Carrington of Crossland High; Russell Wilson and Danielle Matthews of Surrattsville High; Marcela Smid and Meredith Stakem of Eleanor Roosevelt High; Joy L. Parker and Tonia Coleman of Frederick Douglass High; Imani Pickett and Adwoa Bonsra of Northwestern High; Tia Smith and Cassie Agyeman-Duah of Suitland High; Ancy Thomas and Negin Parsee of Parkdale High; Theresa Michelle Valentine and Nicole Ritchey of Laurel High; La'Toya Latney and Sarah Freeman of Central High; Cherisse Kristian Minor and Stephanie Dumford of Gwynn Park High; and Angela Terry and Sabrina Lemieux of Friendly High.

Teachers Workshop

Later this month, four Prince George's County schoolteachers will attend the Maury Project at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis. They will join 22 other teachers from around the world to learn about oceanography. The Maury Project, named for explorer Matthew Maury, is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society, the Navy, the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration and the Maryland Space Grant Consortium.

Ward Fleissner of Gladys Noon Spellman Elementary School in Cheverly; Timothy Price of G. Gardner Shugart Middle School in Hillcrest Heights; Michele Rowland of University Park Elementary School in Hyattsville; and Sallie Smith of Howard B. Owens Science Center in Lanham will learn about items pertaining to the physical processes related to the world's oceans.

If you have an item for Names in the News, please let us know. Fax to 301-952-1397, e-mail to pgextra@washpost.com or write to School Notes, Prince George's Extra, The Washington Post, 14402 Old Mill Rd., Suite 201, Upper Marlboro, Md. 20772.

CAPTION: Andrew Dickman, left, Jeremy Siegel, Dave Friebele and Paul Park, members of Boy Scout Troop 716 in Cheverly, have attained the rank of Eagle.