Although 162 boats started the 26th St. Mary's College of Maryland (SMCM) Governor's Cup Yacht Race in Annapolis on July 30, light winds caused all but 32 competitors to withdraw. This is the largest overnight race on the Chesapeake Bay.

First-to-finish honors went to Donnybrook, owned by Jim Muldoon, of Washington, D.C. The Custom 73 crossed the finish line at St. Mary's College at 6:11 a.m.

The Joseph Waldschmitt Trophy for Best in Fleet has been awarded to Jason Bell of California captain of Rhumb Punch.

The Steve Bickell Memorial Trophy for most improved skipper or boat has been awarded to T. Richardson, captain of Jazz, of Queenstown.


Multihull (8 boats)

1st: Gemini, Jere Glover, Annapolis

PHRF A-0 (6 boats)

1st: Donnybrook, James Muldoon, Washington, D.C.

2nd: Redoubtable, Nadaro Habashi, Baltimore

3rd: Varshek, Ennio Staffini, Annapolis

PHRF A-1 (16 boats)

1st: Mulligan, G. Fronk, Lutherville

2nd: Stitch-n-Glue, Donald Rossi, Crownsville

3rd: Celestris, Michael Brennan, Potomac

PHRF A-2 (30 boats)

1st: Rhumb Punch, Jason Bell, California

2nd: Anthem, Peter Geis, Severna Park

3rd: PowerTripp, David Puckett, Baltimore

PHRF B-1 (27 boats)

1st: Belle Aurore, Lawrence Askew, Annapolis

2nd: Jakrabit, Mike and Jeanne Bonicker, Baltimore

3rd: Nicole, Tad Dupont, St. Michaels

PHRF B-2 (28 boats)

1st: Leewind, Harold Wilson, Annapolis

2nd: Jazz, T. Richardson, Queenstown

3rd: La Vitesse, Tom Neel, Fairfax, Va.

PHRF C (28 boats)

1st: Namu, Gordon Rowse, Glen Burnie

2nd: Tenacious, Bob Fleck, Alexandria, Va.

PHRF N (23 boats)

1st: Dreamscape, Carl Myers, Baltimore

2nd: Andante, Tom Brace, Centreville

3rd: Iretsu, Terry Wanner, California