Maryland International


Event: Speed Unlimited ET series.

When: Saturday. Gates open at 11 a.m., eliminations start at 4 p.m.

Admission: $10.

At stake: Going into the track's final drag races of the season, championships in the heavy eliminator and junior dragster classes are still up for grabs. The championships in the motorcycle and super pro classes have already been clinched.

Analysis: John Mattera tops the heavy eliminator points list, but his lead could be challenged by both Butch Parrett and Robert Robertson. Mattera currently leads Parrett by 32 points and is 39 points ahead of Robertson. Neither Mattera, Parrett or Robertson were in contention for the title last season, finishing ninth, sixth and 10th, respectively.

Brian Hubble holds a 30-point lead on Frank Thompson Jr. in junior dragster, and though it's unclear who will win the title, neither can drop below second place. Their next closest competitor, Stephanie Chappell, is more than 120 points behind. Hubble was last season's runner-up to Nicholas Grigsby (currently in fourth place), while Thompson finished fifth.

Ronnie Procopio, who last season finished second to Daniel Walsh in the motorcycle division, has had the 1999 title wrapped up for weeks. He currently holds a 111-point lead over Billy Stewart. Dennis King has a similar lead in the super pro points, ahead of second-place John Semiklose by 83 points. King finished 11th in the points race last season; Semiklose was 10th.

Points leaders as of Oct. 30

Heavy eliminator

Pos. Racer Pts.

1. John Mattera 1,092

2. Butch Parrett 1,060

3. Robert Robertson 1,053

4. Eddie Bolton 1,000

5. Lisa Bolton 921

Junior dragster

Pos. Racer Pts.

1. Brian Hubble 835

2. Frank Thompson Jr. 805

3. Stephanie Chappell 681

4. Nicholas Grigsby 672

5. Brent Martin 661


Pos. Racer Pts.

1. Ronnie Procopio 1,074

2. Billy Stewart 963

3. Ronald Proctor 893

4. Daniel Walsh 844

5. Robbie Hunnicutt 731

Super pro

Pos. Racer Pts.

1. Dennis King 1,104

2. John Semiklose 1,021

3. Gary Facemire 990

(tie) Joey Mattera 990

5. Joe Moholland 960