Michael L. Hewitt, a member of the first elected school board in St. Mary's County, announced that he will not run for reelection when his term expires next year.

Hewitt, a 46-year-old businessman, was elected to the board in 1996 for a four-year term. He has two children in the county's public schools.

Hewitt said he decided not to seek another term so that he could concentrate on rebuilding his business, the Hewitt Service Center. The business, on Route 235 and Chancellors Run Road, will be displaced once Route 235 is widened, he said.

"That's going to take a lot of my time. I don't know how effective I'll be at both [jobs]," he said. "I don't know if I'd be able to give it [the school board] the commitment I think I have to to do a good job."

Hewitt recently stepped down as chairman of the board after serving in that capacity for two years. He was replaced by John K. Parlett Jr.

Board of Education candidates in each county have until Monday to file.

So far, a few incumbents have thrown their hats into the ring.

In Calvert County, Mary G. Billings of Owings, currently representing District 3, and Robert L. Gray of Huntingtown, until recently the board's chairman, have filed.

In St. Mary's County, incumbents Mary M. Washington of Lexington Park, the District 4 representative, and Stephen Kracinovich of Leonardtown, vice chairman of the board, have filed. Kracinovich, the at-large representative, will be running for the District 2 seat.

In Charles County, Mary L. Haff of Newburg, Vice Chairman Kathy Levanduski of Waldorf and Chairman Wayne Cooper of White Plains have filed.

Among the newcomers to Calvert's school board race are Robert Church, Eugene Karol and Gail Hoerauf-Bennett. All three are vying for the District 1 seat.

In St. Mary's, Todd B. Morgan is running for the at-large seat.

In Charles, Howard Haft, Deran Eaton and Edward P. Holland are vying with the incumbents for three open seats.