City Seeks Honorees

For Health Award

The Alexandria Public Health Advisory Commission is accepting nominations for the 2003 Flora Krause Casey Public Health Award.

Named for the late health advocate, the award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding accomplishments in public health.

For nomination forms and information, call 703-838-4872 or visit Nominations are due Feb. 14.

H-B Woodlawn Slots

Are Redistributed

Arlington public schools have redistributed attendance-area slots for the next sixth-grade class at H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program.

In October, slots for the 2003-04 sixth-grade class were calculated based on 2001-02 enrollment figures. Distribution of the current year's slots has been updated to reflect enrollment figures of Sept. 30.

Sixty-nine sixth-grade slots are available for next school year. Final allocation of slots will be assigned to Arlington's 16 elementary school attendance areas as follows:

Abingdon 7, Hoffman-Boston/Oakridge 8, Arlington Science Focus/Key 4, Jamestown 5, Ashlawn 2, Long Branch 3, Barcroft 5, McKinley 3, Barrett 2, Nottingham 4, Carlin Springs 5, Randolph 4, Glebe 4, Taylor 6, Henry 3 and Tuckahoe 4.

Assigned slots for Arlington Science Focus/Key reflect the number of fifth-grade students living in the attendance area, not the number of fifth-graders from other attendance areas enrolled in the schools.

For Hoffman-Boston/Oakridge, no specific number of slots will be assigned to schools sharing an attendance area. Instead, one set will be assigned to the combined area, and students will be selected by a random, double-blind lottery for that area.

Sixth-grade slots at H-B Woodlawn are assigned based on the number of public school fifth-graders in each neighborhood attendance area. For that reason, when applying to H-B Woodlawn, Arlington fifth-graders enrolled in schools other than their neighborhood schools must indicate their attendance area.

A countywide random, double-blind lottery will be held at 10 a.m. tomorrow in the H-B Woodlawn library, 4100 Vacation Lane, Arlington, to determine which fifth-graders in each attendance area receive slots. Parents and guardians may observe the lottery, but results will not be disclosed until selections are tabulated. They will be notified of the results by mail or in person.

Students not selected in the lottery will be placed on their attendance area's wait list and a countywide wait list. If a student declines admission or transfers from H-B Woodlawn, the empty slot will go to the next student on the departing student's attendance area wait list.

If no applicants are on that wait list, the slot will be offered to the next student on the countywide list, regardless of attendance area.

To view the revised admission policy for countywide alternative schools, visit Under the "School Board" menu, choose "School Directives & Policies." The policy on countywide alternative school admissions is covered in Directive 25-6.02.

Monroe Education Fund

To Honor Chairman

In response to inquiries about how to honor the memory of County Board chairman Charles P. Monroe, who died Jan. 11, the Arlington Community Foundation has established the Charles Monroe Education Fund.

Donations will help pay for higher education for Monroe's sons, Jonathan and Christopher. The donations are not tax-deductible.

Contributors may send a check payable to the Arlington Community Foundation to 2525 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Va. 22201, and should indicate on the check that it is for the Charles Monroe Education Fund.