Science Bowl Winners

Laurel Elementary won the 17th annual Science Bowl on Monday, beating John Hanson, 260-160. The competition at the Bonnie Johns Elementary Media Center in Landover also featured a semifinal round in which John Hanson defeated Patuxent and Laurel defeated Glenarden Woods.

The finalists came from an initial field of 40 schools.

The Laurel team sponsor is Kit Buckingham. Team members are Brian Miller (captain), Scott Tyree, Kristin Dwyer, Aarti Vadalia, Shane Walker and Brittany Staton.

The winners took home individual and team trophies and will be honored by the Prince George's County Board of Education and County Council at a later date.

Meeting on Magnet Schools

Prince George's County public schools CEO Iris T. Metts will hold a public hearing Tuesday to discuss the restructuring of magnet programs. Information will be shared and questions will be answered about the restructuring proposal. Community input will be welcome to help priorities for education.

The public hearing will be at 7 p.m. in the Board Meeting Room at 14201 School Lane in Upper Marlboro.

To register to speak, contact the magnet school program office at 301-952-6013.

Group Holds Essay Contest

The Hyattsville/Landover Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. is sponsoring its 2003 essay contest. Participants may write about education, diversity and current events. All entries must be received by April 3.

A panel of judges will select the most compelling entries. For first place, a $500 savings bond will be awarded; for second, a $300 savings bond; for third, a $200 savings bond.

Prince George's County public schools have approved the contest and encourage high school students to participate.

Contact Clarence Jones Jr. at 301-352-9571.

Basketball Players Honored

McDonald's Corp. has nominated 14 student-athletes from Prince George's County to the 26th McDonald's High School All-American Basketball Teams, recognizing them as some of the finest basketball players in the country.

The 12 boys and two girls are among 2,500 basketball standouts nationwide (1,500 boys and 1,000 girls) nominated by the McDonald's selection committee.

All-star teams will square off on March 26 at Gund Arena in Cleveland. The girls' game will tip off at 4:30 p.m., followed by the boys' game at 7 p.m. Both will be broadcast live on ESPN.

Proceeds from the games will benefit Ronald McDonald House Charities, which provide a "home away from home" for family members of seriously ill children.

The local nominees are:

Boys: Daniel Bell (Thomas Stone), Steve Danley (DeMatha), Patrick Ewing Jr. (National Christian Academy), Germaine Green (DeMatha), Chris Henderson (Central High School), Trevor Jackson (Friendly), Sean Jackson (Suitland), Wes Otis (Suitland), Chris Pugh (Oxon Hill), Sheray Thomas (Riverdale Baptist), Louis Wilson (Riverdale Baptist) and Orlando Wright (Riverdale Baptist).

Girls: Taneekia Baker (Elizabeth Seton) and Carly Silver (St. Vincent Pallotti).

-- Willie Pugh

If you have an item for School Notes, please let us know. Send an e-mail to; a fax to 301-952-1397; or write to School Notes, Prince George's Extra, The Washington Post, 14402 Old Mill Rd., Suite 201, Upper Marlboro, Md. 20772.