Wrestler of the Year

Justin Tippett, Sr., Arundel

With county, region and state titles, Tippett led the Wildcats to a much-improved season and a fourth-place finish at the state tournament. He defeated Chesapeake's Chad LaPlanche, 5-3, for the county championship, leading Arundel to third place in the county. His region title led the Wildcats to third place, behind Old Mill and Chesapeake.

Coach of the Year

Jim Grim, Old Mill

Grim led the Patriots to the 4A/3A state championship with 73 points -- 10 points ahead of defending champion Chesapeake. The team also won the county title with 198.5 points and the region championship with 169.5 points.

First Team

103: Justin Bowser, Arundel, Fr.: County champion had two pins en route to the 4A/3A East region title and placed fourth in the state, finishing with a 33-2 record.

112: Andrew Mulry, South River, Soph.: Finished undefeated in the county and pinned two opponents before capturing the region title. State qualifier finished 34-3.

119: Corey Bowers, Chesapeake, Jr.: Led the Cougars to second place in the county tournament with a win over Severna Park's Nick Eisenbeiser. Region champ and state runner-up finished 31-3.

125: Doug West, Old Mill, Jr.: Defeated Chesapeake senior Steve Yaruta, 4-3, for the county title and went on to win the region title and place second in the state.

130: Josh Baynham, Old Mill, Sr.: Led the Patriots to the county championship, won the region title and was runner-up at the state tournament, losing to undefeated McDonough senior Derek McDermott. Finished 35-5 on the season, with 104 career victories.

135: Ben Graham, Annapolis, Jr.: Defeated Old Mill senior Jude Ayanleye for the county title. Region champ pinned Westminster senior Jason Brown in 2:59 to finish second in the state.

140: Andrew Smith, Annapolis, Jr.: Won the county title with a pin, the region title with a 2:25 pin and placed fifth in the state with a 4:33 pin against La Plata junior Joshua Weimert. Finished with a 32-2 record.

145: Steve Smith, Severna Park, Sr.: County and region champ defeated Annapolis senior Brett Cherba, 4-0, to finish fourth in the state. A three-time state qualifier, Smith was the only public school wrestler to win at the Hammond Invitational. Finished 34-3 this season and 101-33 in four years.

152: Chris Dyke, Northeast, Sr.: Won the county title and earned a region title before falling to Chesapeake junior Seppi Serio for fourth place in the state. Finished 25-5 on the year, with an 89-10 career record.

160: Walker Babington, Severna Park, Sr.: Placed fourth in the state after winning county and region titles and third at the Damascus tournament. Finished the season 28-6 with 20 pins.

171: Jake Couch, Chesapeake, Soph.: Took North County's John Hostler into overtime before winning the county championship, 6-4. Placed third in the region and was integral in leading the Cougars to the state dual-meet championship.

215: Tyler Moyer, Broadneck, Jr.: Transfer from Washington state defeated Northeast senior Joe Fold for county and region titles and earned second place in the state. Finished the season 31-2.

Hwt: William Bell, Old Mill, Sr.: Defeated Severna Park state champ Brian Payer, 7-3, for the county title and won the region from Meade junior Alec Eaton. Had three pins in the state tournament before falling, 4-3, to Payer. Finished 33-4 on the season, with 18 pins.

Hwt: Brian Payer, Severna Park, Sr.: The Falcons' first state champ in 11 years, Payer defeated Bell when it counted most. He also pinned Arundel senior Kristopher Hood in 35 seconds for a third-place region finish and was one of two county wrestlers to earn a state title this year. Posted a 27-7 season record and a 55-15 career record.

Honorable Mention

Ben Harvey, Meade, Fr.

Geoff Clark-Ames, Northeast, Jr.

Andrew Stiffler, Arundel, Jr.

Steve Yaruta, Chesapeake, Sr.

Mike Handleman, Arundel, Sr.

Jude Ayanleye, Old Mill, Sr.

Cameron Moury, Severna Park, Soph.

Brett Cherba, Annapolis, Sr.

Seppi Serio, Chesapeake, Jr.

Kevin Lehnert, Northeast, Jr.

Kris Coby, Broadneck, Jr.

Chad LaPlanche, Chesapeake, Sr.

Joe Fold, Northeast, Sr.

Alec Eaton, Meade, Jr.

Front row, from left: Tyler Moyer, William Bell, Justin Bowser, Brian Payer. Back row, from left: Steve Smith, Josh Baynham, Chris Dyke, Walker Babington, Andrew Smith, Doug West, Corey Bowers. Not pictured: Justin Tippett, Andrew Mulry, Ben Graham, Jake Couch, Jim Grim.