The South Anne Arundel County Dance Conservatory recently received the Organizer's Award for its diverse repertoire and professional performance during the 2004 New Prague Dance Festival, held in Prague. The following Anne Arundel County dancers participated in the performance: Lynn Pilgrim of Tracys Landing, Ashley Case of Galesville and Brenda Shortt of Shady Side. Ken Armstrong and J. Davis Hobdy, both from Shady Side, are the conservatory's directors.

Six Anne Arundel Community College faculty members will receive teaching excellence awards this month at the International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence in Austin. Carey C. Borkoski of Baltimore is an assistant economics professor; Charles S. Davis of Severna Park is a mathematics professor; Dan V. Ferandez of Glen Burnie is an assistant physical science professor; Marion K. Glasby of Pasadena is a mathematics professor; Philip M. Knighton of Baltimore is an instructional specialist in English as a second language; and Kelly A. Koermer of New Freedom, Pa., is an associate professor and coordinator of paralegal studies and manager of diversity and compliance.

Arundel Habitat for Humanity in Arnold was recently recognized by three local and national organizations for its work in Annapolis's Clay Street district. This year the local group was named an "Urban Model of Success" by Habitat for Humanity International for its work in the low-income neighborhood. Since 1999, Arundel Habitat has raised and rebuilt seven homes on Clay Street. Its work will be posted on Habitat for Humanity International's Web site at The organization also received a preservation award from the Historic Annapolis Foundation for its work at 58 and 60 Clay St. and a commitment-to-excellence award from the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development.

The Harbor City Music Company Quartets recently received a gold medal during the Atlantic-Bay-Mountain Regional Convention, held last month in Ocean City. The Brooklyn Park-based group (composed of four singing quartets) competed against 16 groups from Maryland, Pennsylvania and New Jersey for the award. The group also received a fourth-place medal in the competition.

Six students from Anne Arundel, Queen Anne's and Talbot counties were recently recognized for their dedication to community service during a Maryland service-learning leadership recognition reception held last month at the U.S. Naval Academy. The following high school seniors were named "Service Stars" during the ceremony: Sarah Kathryn Coale, Broadneck High School; Sabrina N. Iga, Old Mill Senior High School; Travis Bordley and Ashley Landskroener, Queen Anne's County High School; Caitlyn Danielle Distler, St. Michaels Middle/High School; Amber Yeatman, Easton High School.

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.