Anne Arundel County placed second during the 25th annual Telly Awards for the marketing video "Sail Into Fortune in Anne Arundel County." The Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional and cable television commercials, programs and video and film productions. Anne Arundel County's video was developed and produced by the Anne Arundel Economic Development Corp. An excerpt from "Sail Into Fortune in Anne Arundel County" can be seen at

Four Anne Arundel County high school seniors have been given 2004 Ray Kroc Youth Achievement Award scholarships by McDonald's Corp. Caitlin Heidemann of Old Mill High School, Adrienne Kasper of Severna Park High School, Lauren Krieger of North County High School and Darah Wright of Glen Burnie High School received $1,500 each. They were among 20 Maryland students honored during a ceremony May 13 at Martin's West in Baltimore.

Collin McKay of Pasadena recently received a Daily Point of Light Award from the Points of Light Foundation for his efforts to collect and mail items to troops serving overseas. Collin, 9, was nominated for the award by his mother, Danielle. The fourth-grader started Collin's Cause last year by collecting "care package" items from students and teachers at Jacobsville Elementary School. Since he started the collection drive, Collin has mailed about 20 packages to troops serving in Iraq. Collin also volunteers with local homeless shelters and the Multiple Sclerosis Foundation and recently completed a video with his 12-year-old brother, Patrick, about bullying.

Debbie Iverson of Pasadena recently received the Home Team Spirit award from Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage. Iverson, a real estate agent, has been working in real estate for 14 years. The Home Team Spirit award recognizes Coldwell Banker employees who "go above and beyond" by volunteering in their communities. For the past eight years, Iverson has collected food for the Anne Arundel County Food Bank. She has also walked in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure and worked during Coldwell Banker flea markets that benefit Habitat for Humanity.

Michael Keller, Bertina Nick, Larry Griffin, Pat Schenck and Ann Dorsey of Annapolis recently received Race Unity Awards from the Bahais of Annapolis. Keller is chairman of the Annapolis Human Relations Commission, which works to improve relations among the cultures and communities in Annapolis. Nick is president of the Clay Street Improvement Association, an organization dedicated to improving lives in the economically disadvantaged Clay Street community. Griffin is president of We Care and Friends, a nonprofit organization that feeds homeless people in Annapolis. Schenck is a member of the Annapolis Friends Meeting (the local Quaker organization), and Dorsey belongs to the Martin Luther King Jr. breakfast committee, which recognizes the efforts of Anne Arundel County human rights activists through annual awards ceremonies. The award recipients were honored during a ceremony May 2 at the Banneker-Douglass Museum.

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.