Eighty Arlington students won scholarships from the Arlington Community Foundation. Scholarships range from $500 to $5,000.

The winners are:

Wakefield High School: Marian Ali, Janice Javier, Sheekha Singh, Pamela Torres and Claudia Torres.

Washington-Lee High School: Hanan Abdulahi, Sumer Aziz, Kristin Corcoran, Halle Cowen, Jayne Deichmeister, Kira Jordan, Janice Li, Joy Lithgow, Christina Niner, Sarah Schuyler, Paras Sharma, Caroline Weitzman, Ashby Williams and Tanzira Zaman.

H-B Woodlawn: Drew Costley, Caroline Dulaney, Mary Eddy, Juan Lopez and Suzanne Pollard.

Yorktown High School: Marie Cosgrove-Davies, Tommy Dierkes, Reina Escobar, Kaya Jurczyska, Abdul-Halim Kandil, Matthew Neff, Anna Nelson, Katherine Read, Carl Siegmund and Roxanne Stachowski.

Children of Arlington 911 Emergency Workers: Brian Griffin, Shawn McCoy and Stephen Smith III.

College Students:

Farhana Ahmed, George Washington University; Litza Amurrio, Mary Washington College; Veronica Andrews, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Veronica Barlas, University of Virginia; Meron Berhane, George Mason University; Jon Blankenship, East Carolina University; Christine Boehm, Stanford University; Marvin Bonilla, George Washington University; Hannah Byrd, Virginia Tech; Lorena Caballero, University of Virginia; Alexandro Cano, George Mason University; Soraya Carrig, George Mason University; Sophia Chaale, James Madison University; Sargon de Jesus, Brown University; Rebecca Ferrone, Sheperd College; Kevin Gandarillas, George Mason University; Rebecca Gibbs, Marymount University; Chee Hur, University of Virginia; Jennifer Jesneck, Marymount University; Carlyn Kelley, Radford University; Evan Kuehn, Wheaton College; Alejandra Mercado, College of William and Mary; Shauna Min, Northern Virginia Community College; Nikolay Mollov, University of Virginia; Inge Osman, Duke University; Paul Pan, George Mason University; Christine Penn, College of William and Mary; Ginette Perea, George Mason University; Lilian Perez, Wellesley College; Sharon Prange, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Adam Reardon, Virginia Tech; Jennifer Scully, University of Virginia; Shan Shi, University of Southern California; Anita Silva, George Mason University; Sheeba Singh, Northern Virginia Community College; Paul Smith, James Madison University; Linda Sorto, Smith College; Shannon Southard, Virginia Commonwealth University; Gabriela Torres, University of Virginia; David Trang, University of Virginia; Ariel Wagner, Princeton University; Jerrel Ware, Southeastern University; and Lenard Williams, University of Maryland at Baltimore County.

The Alexandria Education Partnership honored six Alexandria public school teachers with the Excellence in Education Awards.

The recipients are: Jennifer Fisher, Maury Elementary School; Adam Levine, T.C. Williams High School, Becky Morris, Douglas MacArthur Elementary School; James Reyns Jr., George Washington Middle School; Katherine Seche, George Mason Elementary; and Doris Winstead, Cora Kelly School for Math, Science and Technology.

Stefanie Reponen is the recipient of this year's Flora Krause Casey Public Health Award. Sponsored by the Alexandria Public Health Advisory Commission, the award honors those who have committed themselves to helping Alexandrians with medical needs.

Reponen was recognized for her service to Alexandria's senior citizens and disabled residents.

Stephen W. Rideout, chief judge of the Alexandria Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court, has been named Judge of the Year by the National Court Appointed Special Advocate Association.

Rideout was recognized for his commitment to programs such as Family Drug Court and Adoption Saturdays.

Sgt. Tom Eldridge of the Arlington County Sheriff's Office was awarded the 2004 Respect for Law Award by the Arlington Optimist Club. Eldridge has worked for the Sheriff's Office since 1988. He was honored for his work in recruiting employees and improving efficiency within the department.

-- Compiled by MIYA WISEMAN

To Submit an Item

E-mail: alexextra@washpost.com

Fax: 703-518-3001

Mail: Honors and Awards, The Washington Post, Alexandria Arlington Extra, 526 King St., Suite 515, Alexandria, Va. 22314

Details: Photos are encouraged, preferably sent as digital files. They must include the photographer's name.