The Town of Leesburg gave its Customer Service Award to three Department of Information Technology employees who consistently deliver high-quality service to their customers and promote goodwill and a positive image of the town: government information services coordinator John Callahan and network administrators Debbie Richards and Matt Russell.

The Safety Award, designed to recognize and encourage efforts to promote employee safety, went to Bonnie Darr, an administrative associate from the Water Pollution Control Facility.

The Innovation Award, for developing or implementing a practice or program that made a town service better, faster or cheaper, went to Terry Frye, a finance technician in the Finance Department.

A number of area residents were named to the dean's list at Virginia Tech for the spring 2004 semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

The list includes Ashburn residents Raheel Aidrus, a senior majoring in computer science; Andrew Archut, a sophomore majoring in international studies; Michael Avery, a junior majoring in philosophy; Alicia Baranowski, a senior majoring in human development; Baback Bazri, a senior majoring in business information technology; Matthew Bonacquisti, a junior majoring in accounting and information systems; David Class, a senior majoring in electrical engineering; Cassandra Coffman, a junior majoring in human development; Alexandra Cordero, a junior majoring in political science; Corinne DeGastyne, a senior majoring in animal and poultry science; Christopher Edens, a junior majoring in biochemistry; Philip Gallo, a sophomore majoring in English; Jonathan Healy, a senior majoring in accounting and information systems; John Hindman, a sophomore majoring in business; Garrett Hols, a senior majoring in international studies; Paul Larkins, a senior majoring in computer science; Sarah Larkins, a sophomore majoring in communication; Lauren Matz, a senior majoring in marketing management; Andrew McAdams, a senior majoring in electrical engineering; Robert McCusker, a freshman majoring in university studies interdisciplinary; Michelle Meyer, a junior majoring in architecture; Christopher Morales, a senior majoring in marketing management; Spurgeon Norman, a junior majoring in computer engineering; David Rariden, a senior majoring in architecture; Eric Thiel, a senior majoring in interdisciplinary studies; Kristin Lamir, a junior majoring in human development; Christopher Plass, a senior majoring in architecture; Christina Vu, a sophomore majoring in management; and Eric Wong, a senior majoring in business information technology.

Hamilton residents John Conner, a senior majoring in civil and environmental engineering; Patrick Dugan, a sophomore majoring in English; Jennifer Sottosanti, a sophomore majoring in animal and poultry science; and Ryen Staley, a senior majoring in art and art history, also made the dean's list at Virginia Tech.

Patrick Godfrey, a senior at Loudoun Valley High School, won one of two $500 scholarships from Virginia Odyssey of the Mind during the program's state tournament in Spotsylvania County on April 23 and 24.

Members of the Park View High School Latin Club took home awards from the eighth annual Medusa Mythology Exam.

On the upper-level test (for Latin III-VI and advanced placement students), Jimmy Tipton earned a Corona Laurea certificate and Brian Baird and Richard Hang won bronze medals.

On the lower-level test (for Latin I and II students), Laura Belcher, Adam Brubaker and Trevor Hurd earned Corona Oliva certificates and Prianka Debnath earned a Corona Laurea certificate. Caitlin Steiner, Brady Tyra and David Yates each earned bronze medals, and Kevin Jefferson earned a silver medal.

The Medusa Mythology Exam was developed to give students an opportunity to excel and earn recognition while increasing their exposure to the study of classical mythology. Based on a syllabus and questions written by a team of professors, teachers and students, the exam is composed of 50 multiple-choice questions. This year approximately 7,500 students from the United States, Canada, Australia, Italy and Slovenia registered for the exam.

Park View Latin Club sponsor Howard Chang has accepted an offer to join the Medusa Mythology Exam Committee for the 2004-05 year and will help create next year's exam.

Four Loudoun County public schools educators have been appointed to committees reviewing Virginia's Standards of Learning tests for math: math specialist Johnna Bolyard to the Math 8 Committee; math supervisor Cheryl Wimer to the Algebra I Committee; Diana Virgo of Potomac Falls High School to the Geometry Committee; and Dianne Jones of Broad Run High School to the Algebra II Committee.

Amy Ehrenworth, a Spanish I student at Belmont Ridge Middle School, placed first in the Virginia chapter on the 2004 National Spanish Exam. Eleven Belmont Ridge students qualified for certificates of merit: Jacob Anderson, Christine Choi, Jacquelyn Cullen, Wilbert Fields, Charlotte Kenny, Shannon Landers, Kelly Malacarne, Jonathan O'Keefe, Collin Pearson, Emily Schade and Lauren Scofield.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

Debbie Richards and John Callahan were among several Leesburg employees honored.