Player of the Year

Douglas Boateng, Potomac, Senior

* All-Met forward totaled 19 goals and six assists for the Panthers team that made its first region tournament appearance in school history.

* Repeat All-Extra was named Cedar Run District player of the year.

* Will play for Elon (N.C.) University.

Coach of the Year

Tom Kraft, Gar-Field

* In his first season as coach, former Indians player took the team that started 1-5-2 to nine straight victories -- including the school's first regular season district title since 1981.

* Gar-Field (10-6-2) won Cardinal District tournament and advanced to Northwestern Region semifinals, its first region appearance since 1999.

First Team

GK/F Andrew Dykstra, Osbourn Park, Sr. -- Allowed less than a goal per game in eight matches before breaking his hand. Moved to forward and contributed four goals and five assists. Repeat All-Extra will play for Virginia Commonwealth University.

D Mohamed Kamara, Potomac, Sr. -- Persistent marking back was the top defender for a unit that excelled at pushing the ball upfield. Scored three goals and had seven assists.

D Chris Pertl, Osbourn Park, Sr. -- All-state selection was the linchpin in a Yellow Jackets defense that allowed only 13 goals in 18 games and posted eight shutouts. Will play for Radford University.

D Freddie Ventura, Osbourn, Jr. -- All-Northwestern Region pick displayed exceptional field vision, quick feet and dynamic skills. Added two goals and two assists.

MF Jonathan Hawkins, Forest Park, Soph. -- Moved from defense to midfield this season and made an impact for the Bruins with his aggressiveness. Scored four goals.

MF Ryan Jenkins, Osbourn Park, Sr. -- Two-time All-Met and repeat All-Extra directed the Cedar Run champions' possession offense. Precision passer added three goals and four assists. Will play for American University.

MF Alimamy Kargbo, Woodbridge, Sr. -- Vikings' top playmaker scored five goals and assisted on five others. Will play for Shenandoah University.

MF Danfi Parker, Gar-Field, Jr. -- Cardinal District player of the year and all-state first-teamer was the leader of the Indians' talented midfield. Scored five goals and added three assists.

F Jusufu Barclay, Gar-Field, Sr. -- All-Northwestern Region selection a sturdy, hard-nosed striker who also displayed speed and quickness en route to nine-goal, three-assist season.

F Terrie Kweifio, Forest Park, Sr. -- Team captain used his height and speed effectively and helped lead the Bruins with four goals. Will play for North Carolina Wesleyan College.

F Nicholas Leigh, Osbourn Park, Sr. -- Led Yellow Jackets' offense with eight goals and two assists. Will play for Radford University.

Honorable Mention

Wilmer Arana, Potomac, Sr.; Essien Ayanam, Stonewall Jackson, Sr.; Jonathan Chapman, Woodbridge, Sr.; Tommy Dinuzzo, Osbourn Park, Jr.; Jimmy Hash, Forest Park, Jr.; Stephen Iden, Hylton, Sr.; Sam Lattin, Woodbridge, Sr.; Irvin Martinez, Gar-Field, Soph.; James Monastra, Woodbridge, Sr.; Ryan Monastra, Woodbridge, Sr.; John Painter, Gar-Field, Soph.; Tim Pittman, Osbourn, Jr.; Henry Rodriguez, Stonewall Jackson, Soph.; Kevin Russell, Potomac, Soph.; Trevor Tomczak, Forest Park, Sr.; Brandon Wheeler, Hylton, Sr.

Left, Player of the Year Douglas Boateng, Potomac; right, Coach of the Year Tom Kraft, Gar-Field.Above, front row, from left: Bridgit Cooley, Seton; Jenny Racine, Osbourn; Jill Porto, Potomac; Ashleigh Blumer, Forest Park; Kendall Irby, Gar-Field; Steph Hair, Brentsville. Second row, from left: Lindsey DiLuzio, Forest Park; Nathalie Bolder, Gar-Field; Caly Cassady, Brentsville; Lauren Fenner, Osbourn; Becca Mumley, Woodbridge; Janna Pearson, Stonewall Jackson. Third row, from left: Danfi Parker, Gar-Field; Mohamed Kamara, Potomac; Alimamy Kargbo, Woodbridge; Jonathan Hawkins, Forest Park; Terrie Kweifio, Forest Park; Douglas Boateng, Potomac; Freddie Ventura, Osbourn; Jusufu Barclay, Gar-Field. Back row, from left: Coach Michelle McDonald, Gar-Field; Nicholas Leigh, Osbourn Park; Andrew Dykstra, Osbourn Park; Coach Tom Kraft, Gar-Field. Left, Chris Pertl, Osbourn Park.