Joshua John Chiappelli of Pasadena recently received the St. Mary's College of Maryland psychology award. Chiappelli is a senior psychology major and plans to study the psychiatry of neurology at Drexel University in Philadelphia. The psychology major award was established in 1993 to recognize a psychology, human development or human studies major who demonstrates a superior understanding of the themes and methods of the discipline.

Ten Annapolis students were named to Virginia Tech's dean's list for the spring semester. They are Kimberly Cline, John Huyett, Kathleen Jawish, Melissa Lay, Michael Malone, Christine Poznaniak, Samuel Renaut, Eric Walsh, Mark Parme and Jill Vandergrift.

Cline is a junior fine arts major; Huyett, a junior political science major; and Jawish, a sophomore apparel, housing and resource management major. Lay and Malone are sophomore interdisciplinary studies majors. Poznaniak is a senior marketing management major; Renaut, a senior English major; Walsh, a senior ocean engineering major; Parme, a sophomore business information technology major; and Vandergrift, a senior psychology major.

Stacy L. DeFino of Laurel was also named to the dean's list. DeFino is a junior communications major.

To qualify for the dean's list, students must maintain a 3.4 grade-point average and complete at least 12 credits.

Arthur D. Ebersberger of Severna Park and Jerome W. Klasmeier of Crownsville were recently elected as the top officers of Anne Arundel Community College's board of trustees. Ebersberger will serve as chairman and Klasmeier as vice chairman for one year. Ebersberger is vice president of CBIZ Benefits and Insurance Services Inc. He has a bachelor's degree in business from Susquehanna University and a master's degree in business administration from Loyola College. Klasmeier is an assistant comptroller for the state and a former special projects consultant for Anne Arundel County Executive Janet S. Owens.

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.