Maddy VandenHeuvel of Leesburg has been selected to represent the United States in the Children's International Summer Villages program, a 54-year-old exchange organization that promotes peace, education and intercultural friendship.

VandenHeuvel will join three other Washington-area 11-year-olds for the month of July at a multilanguage camp near Bastad, Sweden, along with children from Brazil, Israel, Jordan, Germany, Chile, Philippines and Sweden.

VandenHeuvel is a rising sixth-grader who attended Frances Hazel Reid Elementary and will go to Harper Park Middle School in the fall.

Ten Loudoun County Public Schools students were named to the 2004 All-State Band.

The band is chosen by audition, with the top seats from all-district bands throughout the state auditioning at a central location: Katie Smith and Meagan Kim of Broad Run High School; Jeri Maynard and Ashley Porter of Dominion High School; Brittany Knight of Heritage High School; Kendrey Trammell of Loudoun County High School; Vincent Marks, Ian Richard, Gavin Ruedisueli and Johanna Faroe of Loudoun Valley High School.

Irene Mandracchia of Purcellville received one of six statewide scholarships given by the Virginia Master Gardeners Association for her extensive work in training the public and composting.

Mandracchia and Mame Ward of Sterling were recognized by the association for contributing more than 250 hours of volunteer time to Loudoun's Master Gardener Program.

Nathan Hayba of Lovettsville, a graduate of Loudoun Valley High School, was selected by Rep. Frank R. Wolf's 10th District Service Academy Advisory Board to enter the U.S. Naval Academy.

Mothers Against Drunk Drivers has awarded Rep. Frank R. Wolf (R-Va.) a 2004 Congressional Excellence Award for his efforts to stop drunken driving.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics National Capital Section named Henri D. Fuhrmann of Leesburg, an employee of Orbital Sciences Corp. of Dulles, its Young Engineer/Scientist of the Year.

The award was given "for outstanding achievement with the Blended Lifting Body concept, which advances the state of the art of reentry vehicle aerodynamics design."

This design was developed as part of the NASA Orbital Space Plane program.

Six people became deputies with the Loudoun County Sheriff's Office after graduating from the 110th session of the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy's Combined Basic Deputy Sheriff /Law Enforcement School.

Deputy Timothy Diviney placed second in the class and Deputy Daniel Martynowicz was third.

The graduates, who are now state certified in basic law enforcement, are Diviney, Martynowicz, Terry W. Daniel, Thomas A. Mcyntre III, Lindsay Sayre and Ryan J. Stewart.

Jared Lanham, a new Leesburg police officer, also graduated from the 24-week program.

The Goose Creek District of the Boy Scouts of America presented its annual Good Scout Award to Leonard S. "Hobie" Mitchel, president of Lansdowne Community Development LLC, for his service and leadership in Loudoun County.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

Maddy VandenHeuvel of Leesburg will represent the United States in the Children's International Summer Villages program.