Gregory Sharpe of Crofton won Anne Arundel Community College's Iron Chef Cook Off, held recently at the college's Hospitality, Culinary Arts and Tourism Institute in Glen Burnie. Sharpe, executive chef at the International Monetary Fund in Washington, was one of four to compete in the event. The chefs had an hour to prepare one dish using ingredients provided by the college.

Heather Lynne Howe of Stevensville won first place in the Entrepreneurial Studies Institute Business Plan Competition sponsored by Anne Arundel Community College. Howe received $1,500 for a business plan detailing her idea for a bakery, which she opened in Stevensville in January 2001. Monica Moyer of Chester won a $1,000 second-place prize, and Adam Gallagher of Millersville won a third-place prize of $500. Moyer submitted a business plan for an art and framing gallery, a business she opened in 2002. Gallagher submitted a business plan for an Internet radio network.

Carl Bouie, Michael R. Freedman, Kelley Green and the Pindell/Charles family, all of Annapolis, and Lou Carloni of Odenton, Robert E. Dennis III and Delores D. Hawkins of Glen Burnie, Sherrie McSweegan of Crofton and George H. Wiseman Jr. of Arnold were named Community Champions for 2004 by Sandy Spring Bank.

* Bouie, an Annapolis Police Department officer, works during the summer as a Drug Abuse Resistance Education instructor and started the youth outreach program "I Know I Can." The program is dedicated to teaching children to make the right decisions when faced with peer pressure.

* Freedman, an internist at Annapolis Internal Medicine, volunteers at Annapolis Outreach Center, a free medical clinic sponsored by Anne Arundel Medical Center. He founded the Hahnemann Homeless Clinic, which serves the homeless in Philadelphia.

* Green served as president of the Bywater Boys and Girls Keystone Club. She also sings in her church choir and is a member of her school's student government.

* The Pindell/Charles family has volunteered its time and money to more than 20 nonprofit Anne Arundel County organizations.

* Carloni is owner of SMBC Inc., which provides management and employee training for various businesses in the county.

* Dennis has been a baseball coach for children 4 and older. He now manages and coaches the Pirates, a team of 7- and 8-year-olds.

* Hawkins is a member of the Mount Tabor United Methodist Church outreach program. She also belongs to Women of Color and the NAACP.

* McSweegan is a third-grade teacher at Crofton Woods Elementary School. She has been a Parent Teacher Association president.

* Wiseman works as a lieutenant for the Anne Arundel County Fire Department. He is a member of the department's Public Education Division and has performed outreach and conducted fire education programs for more than 13,000 county students.

Stephen Barry, an environmental educator with the Anne Arundel County public schools, recently received the 2004 Tawes Award for a Clean Environment from the Maryland Department of the Environment and the Maryland Petroleum Council. He directs the Outdoor Education Program at the Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center in Crownsville.

Barry also was given the Partner of the Year Award by the Association of Natural Resources Extension Professionals and the Maryland Department of the Environment.

The association also honored the Anne Arundel County Master Gardeners with an Innovative Program Award for "Rehabilitating the Chesapeake Bay Landscape One Garden at a Time." The program helps elementary, middle and high school students design and build gardens. Last year the master gardeners built a 1,200-square-foot garden at Arlington Echo with students from West Annapolis, Folger McKinsey, Linthicum and West Meade elementary schools. The gardeners also received a silver award for best presentation for the poster "Down and Dirty: A Partnership in Applied Learning."

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.