Anne Arundel Community College biology professor Richard L. Faircloth was recently elected regional director of the board of directors of the International Human Anatomy and Physiology Society (HAPS). The society provides information about developments in the health and science fields through workshops and conferences for teachers in colleges, universities and related professions. Faircloth, an Anne Arundel Community College professor for 31 years, will serve a two-year term as director of the HAPS eastern region, which includes 13 states, the District and the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec.

Pasadena baseball fan Matthew Rainge, 9, will be able to watch his favorite Orioles baseball player, Javy Lopez, warm up July 26 when the team plays the Boston Red Sox. Matthew was one of two youngsters chosen at random by the team to sit in the dugout during batting practice and walk onto the field during a pre-game ceremony. The Bodkin Elementary School fifth-grader plays baseball for Lake Shore, a Pasadena Little League team. He also swims and bikes. He hopes to become a professional baseball player.

Danielle M. Mosley of Annapolis was recently elected secretary of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra's board of trustees. Mosley, an Anne Arundel County assistant state's attorney, has served on the board for a year. Jean A. Moreau of Annapolis was appointed by the board chairman to the board's executive committee as an assistant treasurer. Moreau is president of Jean Moreau & Associates Inc., a consulting firm that specializes in the planning and development of retirement communities. Hunter F. Calloway of Crofton was reelected to a three-year term as board chairman. Kathleen B. Eisenhart of Annapolis was reelected vice chairman, orchestra. Eisenhart will oversee various committees on the board, including the education committee. Anne S. Potter of Annapolis was reelected vice chairman of finance, and Larry R. Innis of Arnold was reelected treasurer.

The following county residents are newly elected members of the orchestra's board: Herbert A. Abeles, Arthur S. Drea Jr. and Joan E. Leanos of Annapolis; Carol I. Katz of Riva; Kris Powell Bennett of Edgewater; and Norman A. Lieberman and Michael E. Loney of Arnold. Terrance P. Murray of Lothian and Gary L. Simpler of Baltimore were reelected to the board.

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Circle, Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.