Prince George's County Community College recently honored 16 retiring faculty and staff members who worked at the college for a total of more than 400 years. Their employment ranged from three to 27 years and included jobs in facilities management, the English and chemistry departments, human resources, the campus police and admissions. Alonia Sharps, an executive assistant to college President Ronald A. Williams, spoke of their achievements and presented each with a watch.

Those retiring are Theodore Anderson, a heating mechanic; John Ash, a research analyst; Merlin LeRoy Badger, a writing professor; Sharon Beatrez, a support worker for communication and theater, Emily Bronstein, an associate professor of math and engineering; William Rex Connor, an associate professor of developmental mathematics; Patricia A. Cunniff, the dean of science, math and health technology; Natalie T. DeCouto, a human resources specialist; Catherine A. Dove, an administrative clerk; Maureen Ickrath, a coordinator for community services; Bettie H. Johnson, an environmental services worker; Marcia Lovinger, a coordinator for continuing education; Linda Stabile, a professor of criminal justice and forensic science; Ralph Tapscott, a police officer; Margaret Tierney, a professor of physical sciences; and Charlotte Weisshaar, an administrative assistant in the student services area.

Glenn F. Ivey, Prince George's County state's attorney, received the Public Service Award from the Northern Virginia chapter of the American Society for Public Administration. Chapter President Karen L. Bune said Ivey was chosen because of his "proactive regional approach and focus on cross-border initiatives concerning gang violence." She praised his efforts to raise awareness of the issue and to demonstrate "his willingness to work cooperatively and collaboratively" with neighboring communities.

Samuel Alemayehu, valedictorian for High Point High School's class of 2004, received a $20,000 National Coca-Cola Scholarship. The merit scholarship honors a diverse group of high school seniors who demonstrate academic and civic excellence. Sandy Williams, board chairman of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, said in a statement that Alemayehu "has shown an unwavering commitment to educational achievement, leadership and service to his school and community." Alemayehu was selected from a field of 250 competitors.

Julie Z. Younes, a junior at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pa., was named to the dean's list for the spring semester. The Elizabeth Seton High School graduate and Hyattsville resident is majoring in French and international studies.

Lina Maureen Garcia, a Bowie resident and graduate of Elizabeth Seton High School, has received a bachelor's degree in international studies, magna cum laude, from Dickinson College. The Phi Beta Kappa member was named to the dean's list for the 2003-04 semesters.

Malinda Naomi Mochizuki, a resident of Riverdale and graduate of Parkdale High School, received a bachelor of arts in psychology from Dickinson. She was also on the 2003-04 dean's list.

Michelle Anne Bartoli, a resident of Upper Marlboro and graduate of Archbishop Spalding High School, was awarded a bachelor of arts in international business and management, cum laude.

-- Compiled by GERRI MARMER

To Submit an Item


Fax: 301-618-1780

Mail: Names in the News, Prince George's Extra, The Washington Post, 9500 Arena Dr., Suite 400, Largo, Md. 20774.

Details: Include a daytime phone number for any submissions.