Anne Arundel County public schools will launch all-day kindergarten programs during the 2004-05 academic year in 13 elementary schools throughout the county.

The schools involved are Belle Grove, Brooklyn Park, Glen Burnie Park, Hillsmere, Hilltop, Jessup, Lothian, Marley, Maryland City, North Glen, Oakwood, Rolling Knolls and Woodside. Parents of students who are registered to attend the schools in the fall will be notified of the kindergarten hours.

For more information, call Anne Arundel County public schools at 410-222-5441.

The Maryland Higher Education Commission is accepting applications for the Edward T. Conroy Memorial Scholarship through July 30. The scholarship, available to disabled public safety employees and their family members, covers up to $7,200 in tuition costs for any Maryland college, university or private career school.

Veterans with a 25 percent or higher disability rating and family members of victims of the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks also are eligible to apply for the scholarship. Scholarship recipients must enroll in at least six credit hours per semester.

For more information, call the Maryland Higher Education Commission's office of student financial assistance at 410-260-4565 or 800-974-1024, or visit

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.