Celebrate Fairfax Inc., which runs the county fair, recently announced its 2004 Lord and Ladies of Fairfax, a tradition recognizing outstanding Fairfax residents.

The winners are chosen by members of the county Board of Supervisors, who each select two people from their district who have demonstrated outstanding volunteer service, heroism or other special accomplishments.

The honorees are Henry B. "Herk" Latimer and Heisung J. Lee, at large; Robert Mizer and Janyce Hedetniemi, Braddock District; C. Daniel Clemente and Juliann Jordan Clemente, Dranesville District; Robert E. Simon Jr. and Jane Vitray, Hunter Mill District; Alan G. Norris and Norma D. Hoffman, Lee District; Don Di Spirito and Elizabeth Clements, Mason District; Joseph M. Chudzik and Harriet H. Piper, Mount Vernon District; Henry J. Mastenbrook and Harolyn L. Smith, Providence District; Jim McIntyre and Kathy May, Springfield District; and Dan and Leslie Jenuleson, Sully District.

Three high school students from the McLean area have won $1,000 arts scholarships in the Alden Theatre's 2004 James C. Macdonald Fine Arts Scholarship Competition. The prizes were awarded to students placing first in each of three categories.

Giancarlo Garcia, a clarinet player at McLean High School, took first place in the music category; Alex Kim of Langley High School took first in the visual arts category with painting; and Dylan Fawcett of Langley High School took first in the theater category.

The competition encourages artistic achievement and promotes study in the arts by high school students in the McLean special tax district.

Kathryn Minshew, who recently graduated from Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, has been named a recipient of a $20,000 scholarship from Coca-Cola Co. She is one of only 50 winners from an initial nationwide applicant pool of nearly 80,000. Minshew was chosen for "an unwavering commitment to educational achievement, leadership and service to her school and community," a spokesman for the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation said.

The foundation has awarded nearly $25 million in scholarships since 1989.

David Butenhoff, who graduated in June from Lee High School, was named the national secondary school winner in computer maintenance technology at the recent National Leadership and Skill Conference and SkillsUSA championships in Kansas City, Mo.

Butenhoff also studied at the Edison Academy, a school within a school at Edison High School that offers advanced, technical and specialized courses that primarily focus on career fields. At the academy, he studied Cisco network design and engineering.

In the SkillsUSA computer maintenance technology contest, Butenhoff was required to identify and repair computer hardware malfunctions, solve configuration problems and install common components.

The National Air and Space Museum's new annex in Chantilly has been named one of four winners of Fairfax County Exceptional Design Awards.

The 20th annual awards honored the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center and its architect, Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum PC of Northwest Washington. The program recognizes achievement in architectural design and promotes public awareness of outstanding planning and design projects.

Other winners include Trillium House, a Fairfax County residence designed by Jon Hensley Architects PLLC of Arlington; Mitre Corp. for a pedestrian bridge designed by Ai of Northwest Washington; and Unity of Fairfax church and the building's architect, LeMay Erickson Architects of Reston.

The design awards program is sponsored by the Board of Supervisors and administered by the Department of Planning and Zoning in cooperation with the Architectural Review Board and the Northern Virginia chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Nick Simons, who graduated in June from Fairfax High School, was a recent winner of the young entrepreneur of the year award from Ernst & Young and Junior Achievement of the National Capital Area.

Simons founded and ran his own lawn care and landscaping business, Lawn Wranglers Landscaping. The award includes $1,000.

-- Compiled by C. WOODROW IRVIN


To Submit an Item

E-mail: fxextra@washpost.com

Fax: 703-273-2836

Mail: Names in the News, Fairfax Extra, The Washington Post, 4020 University Dr., Suite 220, Fairfax, VA 22030

Details: Photos are encouraged, sent as digital jpeg attachments (minimum 300k) or by mail. The photographer's name, e-mail address and telephone number must be included.

Giancarlo Garcia of McLean High School, from left, and Alex Kim and Dylan Fawcett, both of Langley High School, received $1,000 awards in the Alden Theatre's 2004 James C. Macdonald Fine Arts Scholarship Competition.