The Leesburg Police Department has been recognized by the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police and the International Association of Chiefs of Police for the second consecutive year for its efforts in preventing and enforcing laws on drunken driving, speeding and safety belt use. Leesburg was ranked third in Virginia in these areas and received an honorable mention when scored against agencies throughout the country.

The Leesburg Police Department was also named a Model School Resource Officer Agency by the National Association of School Resource Officers. The department was recognized for its efforts in youth intervention and programs. The Leesburg Police Department has SROs in the town's two high schools and four middle schools. Through the department's SRO program, youth in the area participate in such programs as Class Action, G.R.E.A.T (Gang Resistance Education and Training), DUI and Alcohol Awareness, Junior Police Academy and KidSmart Safety Camp.

The Virginia Association of Teachers of Family and Consumer Sciences named Kathy Bohnsack Teacher of the Year for 2004. Bohnsack joined the Career and Technical Education Department at Heritage High School in September. She came to Heritage from Millbrook High School in Frederick County.

Mia Glickman, Paul "Rod" Thompson and Ronald Weiner were elected to serve on Oatlands Plantation's board of directors.

Glickman, who lives near Marshall, serves on the alumni board for Foxcroft School and is recording secretary for the D.C. Society of Colonial Dames XVII Century. Thompson, of Leesburg, is president of Thompson Consulting Group. Weiner, also of Leesburg, is an advocate for automotive technicians and is president of the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD