The Junior Woman's Club of Loudoun has elected its 2004-05 officers: Michelle Taliaferro, president; Jennifer Sedlemeyer, first vice president; Heather Miller, second vice president; Stephanie Markey, secretary; Elinor McKenzie, treasurer; Pam Schoppert and Kate McCaleb, fundraising; Jennifer McNally, newsletter editor; Misty Simon and Linda Samoranski, public relations; and Susan Burkey, board member at large.

Stuart and Karen Helble of Round Hill have been named among the top 200 traditional craftsmen in the nation by Early American Life magazine. The Helbles, owners of K&S Pewter, were rated for their workmanship and fidelity to period design and construction techniques.

Warrenton has been designated a "Preserve America" community under a White House program that supports community efforts to preserve and promote local heritage.

College freshmen William Davis Ashwell of Warrenton and Brian Daniel Peters of Sterling received the President's Award from Hampden-Sydney College recognizing leadership in their secondary schools and communities and academic achievement. Ashwell graduated from Notre Dame Academy in Middleburg, and Peters graduated from Broad Run High School in Ashburn.

Loudoun County government has received three awards from the City-County Communications and Marketing Association (3CMA).

The Loudoun County Web site ( received a Silver Circle Award in the technology services/Web site category for cities and counties with populations of 130,000 to 225,000. Loudoun's Web site is managed by the county's public information office and the information technology department.

The public information office received an award of excellence for its 2003 annual report in the category of publications/annual reports and for its Discover Loudoun program for middle and high school students in the category of most creative activities with least dollars spent.

3CMA is an international association of more than 800 professional communicators working on behalf of city and county agencies and related organizations.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

New officers of the Junior Woman's Club of Loudoun include: front row, from left, Michelle Taliaferro, Susan Burkey, Elinor McKenzie, Stephanie Markey and Heather Miller; back row, from left, Misty Simon, Linda Samoranski, Pam Schoppert, Jennifer McNally and Jennifer Sedlemeyer.