Enhriilen Zamilan, a junior at Heritage High School in Leesburg, is one of 400 high school juniors and seniors from across the country selected to participate in the National Youth Leadership Forum on Defense, Intelligence and Diplomacy, which will be held Tuesday through next Sunday in Washington. The students will examine how the United States plans for peace and prepares for crisis.

Scott Smedile of Purcellville, a junior at Loudoun Valley High School, has been selected for membership in the National Society of High School Scholars. The society selects students who have superior academic achievement and are among the top scholars in the country.

Smedile recently donated a painting commemorating the Columbia space shuttle to the Smithsonian's Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. The painting is hanging in the museum's administrative area for education.

The Loudoun Arts Council has elected its board of directors for 2005: President Gale Waldron, a freelance writer and the manager of Gallery 222; Vice President Jeffrey Stern, director of the Barns at Franklin Park; Secretary Dan Williams, a painter and senior associate/manager of engineering at Dewberry; Treasurer Tom Fischetti, a Leesburg certified public accountant and treasurer for Leadership Loudoun.

Six new members were named to the board of directors: Erika Castillo, director of education at Loudoun Museum; Kathy Farmer, project director of the Dominion Group and a member of the Loudoun County Master Singers; Fischetti; Suzanne Rickwal, owner of Media Savvy; Sheila Steen, a special education teacher; and Williams.

Carolyn Perry, supervisor of English for Loudoun County public schools, was named vice president of the Virginia Association of Teachers of English at the organization's 35th annual conference. After holding the post for a year, Perry will become president-elect and, the next year, president.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD