The Loudoun Ballet Company's apprentices for the 2004-05 season are, pictured above:

First row, from left: Stephanie Swift, 16, of Sterling; Luisa Casuccio,14, of Leesburg; Laurel Snyder,16, of Bluemont. Second row: Caitlin Jordan, 17, of Ashburn; Claire Babilonia,14, of Leesburg; Anna Parker, 15, of Leesburg; Kelly Ford,15, of Purcellville. Third row: Sarah Terry, 15, of Ashburn; Jordan Gabrielli,15, of Ashburn; Lauren Hafner,16, of Leesburg; Lindsey Miller,14, of Ashburn.

The Loudoun Economic Development Commission presented the Education Leadership Award to Michael Megeath, principal of the C.S. Monroe Technology Center from 1977 to 2003. The award is given annually to an individual, group or organization that demonstrates leadership and achievement in higher education, workforce development, continuing and adult education, or public school administration.

For the first time in Loudoun County, the Boy Scouts of America's National Capital Area Council presented the highest national award, the Silver Beaver, to three volunteers: Barbara Yarbrough, John Harris and John Tew. The award rarely is awarded to more than one person in a county.

Yarbrough has run Loudoun County Scouting's summer camps for five years, organized the leaders forum known as Roundtable and trained many leaders. She recently was elected as the county's Scouting program chairman and the D.C. area Cub Scout Outdoor Program chairman, organizing Cub Scout day camps in 22 counties.

Harris, former scoutmaster of Troop 961 in western Loudoun, is the leader of the D.C. area Wood Badge Program, the highest level of training for adult leaders, conducted three times a year. Harris is also a leader of the area's participation in the National Jamboree, which every four years assembles 40,000 Scouts and leaders from around the country.

Tew, another Troop 961 scoutmaster, has long advised Loudoun and area chapters of the Order of the Arrow, the national honor society for older Boy Scouts.

All three Silver Beaver recipients have sons who are Eagle Scouts and have each received the county's highest Scouting award, the District Award of Merit.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

Loudoun Ballet Company apprentices for this season.Michael Megeath, left, receives an education award from Stewart Edwards of the Loudoun Academic Center.John Harris, left, Barbara Yarbrough and John Tew, recipients of the Boys Scouts' Silver Beaver award.