The West Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce honored four teachers in Anne Arundel County public schools Nov. 4 during its Celebrate Community Gala.

Marcus D'Arcangelis, a fifth-grade teacher at Odenton Elementary School, and Nina Gaither, a special education resource teacher at Southgate Elementary School, received the Elementary School Educator of the Year award. Jacqueline Nedab, an eighth-grade science teacher at MacArthur Middle School, received the Middle School Educator of the Year award. Peter Akerboom, a baking and pastry instructor at the Center of Applied Technology-North, received the High School Educator of the Year award.

Meghan Bradshaw, a junior at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was recently named an "Academic All-Big Ten" by the Big Ten athletic conference for her academic and athletic achievements as a member of her school's varsity women's open weight rowing team.

Bradshaw, of Davidsonville, lettered in her sport during her sophomore year. To be nominated for the award, students must have at least a 3.0 grade-point average.

Archbishop Spalding High School inducted 30 seniors and 66 juniors into the National Honor Society during a ceremony on Nov. 9. Students must have a 3.5 grade-point average, demonstrate leadership in school activities and be active in their communities to be inducted.

-- Compiled by EILEEN RIVERS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Cir., Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.