Boys' Player of the Year

EMRE UCAL, Arundel, Jr.

Persuaded to play high school tennis for the first time this season, Ucal wound up thriving -- and loving every minute of it. The junior went undefeated during the county season and defeated Severna Park senior Matt Bulkley, 6-1, 6-0, in the county final. "This experience was better than I could have imagined," Ucal said. "I can't wait till next year."

Boys' Coach of the Year


Stockton-Sooy, after two years of trying, finally lured Ucal out for the school tennis team, and what resulted was one of Arundel's best seasons in a long time. The Wildcats won the District V title and put two singles players and a doubles team in the state tournament. "We had a great year," Stockton-Sooy said. "This is one we're all going to remember."

First Team

MATT BULKLEY, Severna Park, Sr.

The former county champion lost only twice all season -- both times to Ucal. His steady groundstrokes made him Ucal's toughest competition and helped Severna Park win a county title.


The No. 4 singles champion in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association, Bauer won a thrilling three-set match, 6-3, 5-7, 6-2, to beat St. Mary's Jason Saylor in the tournament final.

DANIEL MELLIN, St. Mary's, Sr.

Mellin often played both No. 1 singles and doubles (allowed in private school play), and he usually won in both. In the quarterfinals of the MIAA tournament, he beat Severn singles and doubles teams in the same afternoon.

NICK ATHANS, Sr., and CONNER CHALMERS, Sr., Severna Park

Playing together for their second season, Athans and Chalmers won the county title and finished fourth in the state tournament, the highest showing of any representative of Anne Arundel County.

PETER SOOY, Sr., and CLINT KOHLER, Sr., Arundel

For the second season in a row, Sooy and Kohler went undefeated during the regular season, beating even Athans and Chalmers. They finished second in the county and qualified for the state tournament, where they won a match.

Honorable Mention

Chad Jones, South River, Sr.

Scott Mitchell, Old Mill, Sr.

Mike Moser, St. Mary's, Sr.

Adam Ogonowski, Severna Park, Sr.

Ben Rosenthal, Severna Park, Fr.

Girls' Player of the Year

AMY OLSON, Arundel, Fr.

In her first year, Olson established herself as Anne Arundel County's player to beat for years to come. She finished the regular season undefeated and won the county title. She advanced to the finals of districts. "Nothing ever flustered her," said Arundel Coach Lynn Stockton-Sooy. "She played like a veteran. She was always prepared and mature."

Girls' Coach of the Year

BILL BOPE, Glen Burnie

Under Bope's guidance, doubles players Crystal and Katherine Morris improved into state tournament-caliber players. The doubles team advanced to the finals of districts before losing a three-set match. After every match, Bope tutored them. "It was a dream year for all of us," Bope said. "Everything came together with those girls."

First Team

KERRY HIGDON, Annapolis, Sr.

The singles player lost only two matches all season in the county. Her toughest loss, to Olson, came in a long two-setter that Olson referred to as her toughest county match of the year.


The well-established doubles pair advanced to the county championship final and lost only one match all season in county play. In two years, they lost just two county matches.


The twins advanced to the county championships and lost just two matches all season. "Their chemistry is incredible," Coach Bill Bope said. "They worked for this kind of season for a long time."

Honorable Mention

Corry Bulkley, Severna Park, Fr.

Kristen King, Old Mill, Sr.

Alissa Poerio, Broadneck, Sr.

Shelley Wilke, Severna Park, Jr.

Front row, from left: Carla Pellegrini, Severna Park; Shea Trogdon, Severna Park; Amy Olson, Arundel; Kerry Higdon, Annapolis; Coach Lynn Stockton-Sooy, Arundel. Back row, from left: Daniel Mellin, St. Mary's; Conner Chalmers, Severna Park; Collin Bauer, Severn; Nick Athans, Severna Park; Clint Kohler, Arundel; Peter Sooy, Arundel; Emre Ucal, Arundel. Not pictured: Matt Bulkley, Severna Park.Players of the Year Amy Olson, left, and Emre Ucal. Below, Boys' Coach of the Year Lynn Stockton-Sooy. From left: Katherine Morris, Girls' Coach of the Year Bill Bope, Crystal Morris, Glen Burnie.