Player of the Year


Fabling beat three players in a tiebreaker to win the county title in the fall. He finished regulation with a 10-over-par 81, then made par on the first playoff hole and won on the second hole by making a four-foot bogey putt. In the spring season, Fabling led his team to a share of the regular season title with Mount Hebron and shot a 9-over-par 81 to place third at the county tournament.

Coach of the Year

BRIAN BEST, River Hill

First-year coach led the Hawks to a share of the spring county title. His work on players' individual games paid off when River Hill was the only team to have two players -- Fabling and Best's son, Matt -- finish in the top six in the spring county tournament. "It was a great season," he said. "I thought everyone on our team improved."

First Team

MATT BEST, River Hill, Sr.: Tied for sixth with a 16-over-par 88 in the spring county tournament.

BLAIR BURNETT, Wilde Lake, Soph.: Placed fourth at the spring county tournament with an 11-over-par 83.

ANDREW GOTSCHALL, Glenelg, Jr.: Placed second at the fall tournament after advancing to a four-player playoff. He lost to Fabling in the second playoff hole.

KYOO HWANG, Mount Hebron, Jr.: Shot a 1-over-par 73 to win the spring county tournament after placing third at the fall tournament.

KENNY KASMIR, Howard, Sr.: Carded a 12-over-par 84 to place fifth at the county spring tournament.

LESLIE WALKER, Atholton, Jr.: Tied for 10th at the state tournament in the fall, then tied for sixth place with a 16-over-par 88 at the spring county tournament.

CHRIS WELLDE, Centennial, Fr.: Placed second at the spring county tournament with a 3-over-par 75 and finished two shots behind the leader. Placed fourth at the fall county tournament.

Front row, from left: Kenny Kasmir, Howard; Leslie Walker, Atholton; Kyoo Hwang, Mount Hebron. Second row, from left: Matt Best, River Hill; Justin Fabling, River Hill; Blair Burnett, Wilde Lake; Andrew Gotschall, Glenelg; Chris Wellde, Centennial; Coach Brian Best, River Hill.Player of the Year Justin Fabling.Coach of the Year Brian Best.