Four Loudoun County public school seniors each received $450 from Sheriff Stephen O. Simpson on June 14 as part of the Virginia Sheriffs' Institute scholarship program.

The students are Natasha Yvonne King of Broad Run High School and Mallory Biazzo, Christine Allen-Cervantes and David Wilkens of Stone Bridge High School.

The scholarships are given to students who plan to study law enforcement or criminal justice at Virginia colleges and universities.

Benjamin Taylor, 11, a fifth-grader at M.M. Pierce Elementary School in Remington, is the AAA Fauquier County Safety Patrol of the Year.

The Teri & Shari Malone Foundation has awarded $250 scholarships to students at each of Loudoun's 11 middle schools and two dance schools who have exceptional talent in art, music, math, science and dance. The foundation was established in memory of two Loudoun County girls who died after having finished eighth grade at Seneca Ridge Middle School.

Belmont Ridge Middle School:

Art: Ju-Yeon "Jane" Seo

Math: Kylene Chistine Smart

Music: Alexis Nola Morris

Science: Stefan Ahldor Kowalski

Eagle Ridge Middle School:

Art: Jordyn Karina Newsome

Math: Steven Sverre Gussgard

Music: Matthew James Chamberlain

Science: Matthew James Chamberlain

Farmwell Station Middle School:

Art: Erin Leigh Childs

Math: Han E. "Brian" Jang

Music: Allison Leigh Bogle

Science: Reinaldo Perez

Harmony Intermediate School:

Art: Claudia Lynn Rivera

Math: Paul Lawrence Ammann

Music: Kelly Elizabeth Bridges

Science: Kaylyn Gail Jackson

Harper Park Middle School:

Art: Alexandra Eva Happersett

Math: Thomas Ludvik Schmidt

Music: Xinyun Cao

Science: Elizabeth Anne Kong

Mercer Middle School:

Art: Rachael Anne McNeive

Math: Siddarth Dutta

Music: Alyson Alana Burnett

Science: Shu Liu

River Bend Middle School:

Art: Scott Vanny Keo

Math: Ashleigh Marie Harvey

Music: Christine Marie Farrell

Science: Jared David Hallett

J. Lupton Simpson Middle School:

Art: Megan Elise Betcher

Math: Miles Douglas Wentworth

Music: Stephanie Kang Eun Lee

Science: Elizabeth "Liz" Mary Asai

Seneca Ridge Middle School:

Art: Alexander Colgan Wood

Math: Yuwan "Angela" Xu

Music: Megan Kimberly Sil

Science: Jessica Faye Szelc

Smart's Mill Middle School:

Art: Sarah Merchant Muse

Math: Josh Alfred Snyder

Music: Monica Lourdes Jorge

Science: Joanna Marie Fang-Hsiao

Sterling Middle School:

Art: Lauren Elizabeth Rymer

Math: Mustafa Hafid Sungkar

Music: Hideko A. "Kiko" Dudley

Science: Mark Alan Bunney Jr.

Loudoun School of Ballet:

Chase Madigan

Dance Academy of Loudoun:

Megan Nicole Carter

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) presented a Mark Trail Award to Mary Barton, principal of Cedar Lee Middle School in Bealeton, for supporting the agency's Weather Radio All-Hazards program. The award honors individuals and organizations that use or provide weather radio receivers or transmitters to save lives and protect property.

Barton installed NOAA weather radios at Cedar Lee in the 1990s and developed a tornado safety plan, which includes student drills. The emergency preparedness efforts paid off Sept. 8, when a tornado touched down near Morrisville and headed northeast toward Bealeton. When Barton heard the tornado warning on the school's weather radio, she delayed dismissal and told staff members to guide students into designated tornado safety areas while she went outside to direct bus drivers and parents inside. Officials said that had Barton not acted, more than 400 people would have been on the roads of southern Fauquier while an F2 tornado (113-to-157 mph winds) was moving into the area.

One week later, the weather radio alarm sounded at Cedar Lee again when an F3 tornado (158-to-206 mph winds) tornado formed near Remington and moved north toward Bealeton. Sixty-five football players, members of the Boys' and Girls' Clubs and staff members were sent to the safety areas.

The Mark Trail Awards are named for the comic strip character that serves as the campaign symbol for the NOAA Weather Radio All-Hazards program.

Leslie Hoffman of Sterling, a student at Potomac Falls High School, has been chosen to attend this summer's Governor's School for Humanities at the University of Richmond.

Graduating seniors Bryan Russell of Liberty High School and James Sittner of Fauquier High School finished first on the written exam and fourth overall at the state finals of the Ford/AAA Auto Skills Competition May 20-21 at the Virginia Aviation Museum in Richmond. In the hands-on part of the contest, teams raced to repair a disabled vehicle.

The Ketoctin Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution present Good Citizenship Awards to one student at 23 schools across Loudoun County each year. Teachers choose the students who exemplify responsibility, leadership, kindness, honor and good citizenship. The award goes to fifth-graders in the public schools and eighth-graders in private schools.

The fifth-grade winners are:

Aldie Elementary: Faith Brown

Arcola Elementary: Tanner Riche

Ashburn Elementary: Meagan Mellin

Ball's Bluff Elementary: Austin Ross Nelson

Banneker Elementary: Andrew Schneider

Catoctin Elementary: Shannon Graney

Cool Spring Elementary: Lauren Schroth

Emerick Elementary: Megan Orentas

Evergreen Mill Elementary: Jenna Strange

Hamilton Elementary: Amanda Ley

Hillsboro Elementary: Megan Marcellin

Leesburg Elementary: Bethany Steele

Lincoln Elementary: Riley Webster

Lovettsville Elementary: Joseph Michael Laude

Lucketts Elementary: Hannah Hale

Middleburg Elementary: Acey Ann-Renee Hotchkiss

Mountain View Elementary: Zachary Klipple

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary: Mary Paige Rodgers

Round Hill Elementary: Susan Mensah

Seldens Landing Elementary: Madison Hoyt

John W. Tolbert Elementary: Shannon Cabrey

Waterford Elementary: Michelle Crowley

The eighth-grade winner is:

St. Theresa School: Meaghan Leon

Devin Britanne Kidner of Ashburn, a freshman at Wake Forest University, was on the dean's list for the spring semester, having earned a grade point average of at least 3.0.

The U.S. Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of Virginia recently honored two members of the Loudoun Sheriff's Office vice-narcotics unit for their efforts in two high-profile narcotics cases.

Investigators Ken Dondero and John Bailie received the 2005 Award for Public Service.

Dondero was recognized for his work leading to the 2004 arrest of former D.C. police officer Shawn Verbeke, 30, of Cleveland. Verbeke was accused of being a member of a drug trafficking organization that distributed ecstasy and methamphetamine in Washington and Northern Virginia, including Loudoun.

Bailie received recognition for his 2004 investigation of a prescription fraud conspiracy case in which four suspects were charged.

The Capital Pride Planning Committee has selected David Weintraub, acting president of Equality Loudoun, as one of nine Capital Pride Heroes for 2005. These individuals are nominated throughout the Washington area for "extraordinary efforts to bring full equality to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities."

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

Loudoun Sheriff Stephen O. Simpson stands with scholarship recipients Christine Allen-Cervantes, from left, Mallory Biazzo, David Wilkens and Natasha Yvonne King.Betty Putnam, left, principal of M.M. Pierce Elementary School, and Annie Hoppe, head of the school's safety patrol program, with student Benjamin Taylor, who was named AAA Fauquier County Safety Patrol of the Year.