The Civic Coalition for Minority Affairs honored 47 African and African American fourth-, seventh- and 11th-graders from Arlington during its 13th annual awards ceremony May 5. The honored fourth-graders: Omneya Abbas, Aaron Asmelash, Nia Black, Naomi Coles, Olivia Craighead, Aboubacar Dia, Ijadah Harris, Devon Henderson, Daniel Hill, Cassandra Kendall, Marcus Lusby, Leila Matta, Eyou-Ab Mesfin, Seynabou Niang, Athena Rollins, Hanna Smith-Benjamin, Brandyn Toone and Yanni Zeresenay. Seventh-graders: Danice Alston, Ana Bass, Patrick Beckley, Caroline Birasa, Sondai Costley, Shakiya Harrison, Hannah Hayes, Alexis Hicks, Mohamed Jawara, Lana Mahgoub, Eleanor Miller, Kierstin Moses, Queen Nkesi, Jessica Portillo, Tabatha Sharp, Aja Shives-Sellars and Michael Venson. Eleventh-graders: Yolanda Akoto, Stephanie Bellevue, Fanuel Gebremedhin, Aleshadye Getachew, Joseph Kennedy, Catherine McDaniel, Natasha Metts, Folashade Modupe, Christine Ndege, Samuel Sarfo, Marina Solomon and Tsion Tsegaye.

Johns Hopkins University's Center for Talented Youth honored six students from George Washington Middle School in Alexandria for being among the most academically gifted students in the country, based on their high scores on the SAT. The students are Christopher Ejiofor, seventh grade; David Harbin, seventh grade; Adrian Lehnen, seventh grade; William Longabaugh, seventh grade; Sarah Noll, eighth grade; and Samuel Waskowicz, eighth grade.

Laura Gorsky, a student at Arlington's Kenmore Middle School, won first place and $250 in the second annual Alexandria Performing Arts Association playwriting competition.

H-B Woodlawn senior Jennifer "Jenna" Dutcher was awarded a $1,000 scholarship by the Lee-Jackson Educational Foundation.

The National Merit Scholarship Program, sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, awarded scholarships to two Arlington seniors from Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Alexandria. Michael J. Feinberg received the Carleton College Merit Scholarship and Emily C. McConnelly was awarded the Hope College Merit Scholarship.

Yorktown High School senior Benjamin Nava was selected to attend this summer's Governor's School for Humanities at the University of Richmond.

The Torill B. Floyd Memorial Public Service Scholarship of $1,000 was awarded to Puspha Asia Neupane of Washington-Lee High School, who graduated first in her class.

The Wal-Mart and Sam's Club Foundation awarded $1,000 Sam M. Walton Community Scholarships to Rashida Akhter and Rebecca Fader, T. C. Williams High School, and Kerry Kraft, Bishop Ireton High School.

Francis Hammond Middle School won the Band, Orchestra and Chorus Awards in the Music in the Parks Festival held at Hersheypark in Hershey, Pa., and at Busch Gardens in Williamsburg. The band won first place, received a superior rating and won Best Overall in the middle school division.

Glebe Elementary School third-grade teacher Andrea Reyes received the Academic Excellence Award, presented by the School of Education and Humanity Services at Marymount University.

Allyson McKowen of Yorktown High School was awarded the E.C.L. Miller Science Teacher of the Year Award on May 19.

The Wakefield High School Alumni Association inducted seven members to the Wakefield High School Hall of Fame on June 10. The inductees were Dawn Chatty, Henry "Ric" Duques, Richard A. Kidd, Doug Mills, Julian "Buddy" Stein, Douglas Wheeler and Barbara "Bobbie" Whittier.

The Alexandria Commission on Persons with Disabilities, Mayor William D. Euille and members of the City Council presented the John Duty Collins III Outstanding Advocate for Persons With Disabilities Award to Barbara Gilley. Sean O'Boyle Franko received the Gerry Bertier Scholarship.

The Alexandria Commission on Aging awarded two individuals and two organizations with Excellence in Aging Awards on May 9. The awardees were Del. Marian Van Landingham, Leslie Herzog, the Charles Houston Senior Center and the Alexandria Adult Day Services Center.

The Alexandria Commission for the Arts' 2005 Alex Awards honored outstanding people and organizations May 20 for making exceptional contributions to Alexandria's cultural life. The winners were: MetroStage, Excellence in an Artistic Discipline Award; the Alexandria Arts Forum, Excellence in Service to the Arts Award; Terrell LeVaughn Ambrose, Outstanding Contributions in Arts Education Award; St. Elmo's Coffee Pub, Innovative Partnership Between Business and the Arts Award; and Del. Marian Van Landingham, Special Recognition Award.

The Arlington Chamber of Commerce and the Arlington Economic Development Commission awarded nine Arlington's Best Businesses awards during their 10th annual ABBIES Award Ceremony on May 13. The recipients were: Arlington Community Foundation, Charles E. Smith Commercial Realty, Crescent, Kerns Group Architects, Sushi-Zen, Technology Management International, Travel Partners Inc., Virginia Hospital Center and WETA.

-- Compiled by RIA MANGLAPUS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 703-518-3001

Mail: Names in the News, 526 King St., Suite 515, Alexandria, Va. 22314

Details: Photos are encouraged, preferably sent as digital files. They must include the photographer's name.