The Goose Creek District of the Boy Scouts of America presented the district's Award of Merit to three leaders at its annual dinner in May: Bill Cavanaugh of Ashburn, Tom Inman of Purcellville and Earl Wells of Sterling. The award is the highest award a Scout leader at the district level can receive.

Cavanaugh was honored for his contributions as district commissioner representing the troops sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and for his work with the monthly Scout roundtable meetings during which leader training and program information is provided.

Inman was recognized as training commissioner for the Goose Creek District for the past three years, and Wells was cited for helping establish new troops and assuring that they are provided with trained leaders.

The following students were named to the dean's list at Virginia Tech for the spring semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn at least a 3.4 grade point average on a 4-point scale.

Patrick R. Mead of Sumerduck, a sophomore majoring in industrial and systems engineering; Harold S. Schwend of Hillsboro, a senior majoring in biology; Shane P. Kridler of Marshall, a sophomore majoring in psychology; and Andrew W. Whittle of Middleburg, a senior majoring in sociology.

Ashburn residents Wesley S. Anderson, a freshman majoring in university studies; Andrew N. Archut, a junior majoring in history; Michael C. Avery, a senior majoring in biochemistry; Thomas M. Brown, a freshman majoring in sociology; Cassandra M. Coffman, a senior majoring in human development; Brian M. Colleran, a freshman majoring in finance; Christopher D. Edens, a senior majoring in biochemistry; Danny A. Fasold, a junior majoring in communications; Philip J. Gallo, a junior majoring in English; Jonathan H. Giguere, a freshman majoring in business; Theresa M. Hawkins, a senior majoring in wildlife science; Gregory E. Hess, a senior majoring in finance; Garrett S. Hols, a senior majoring in international studies; Jordan E. Holt, a freshman majoring in management; Matthew S. Jeletic, a senior majoring in chemistry; Joseph C. Kendall, a sophomore majoring in political science; Andrew K. Landsberg, a sophomore majoring in biochemistry; Sarah K. Larkins, a junior majoring in communications; Andrew R. Lewis, a sophomore majoring in international studies; Lauren M. Matz, a senior majoring in marketing management; and Julieanna C. McGuire, a junior majoring in political science.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD